prayer

     those of you who know me know that i am not keen on talking about personal spirituality except w/ people I know really, really well. I really enjoy talking about religion/spirituality abstractly, as a culture/subculture, its different forms and roles, etc, but i’m not one to talk about my ‘prayer concerns’ in a ‘small group’. i think the last time i probably prayed out loud in front of people i didn’t know intimately was at taylor and let’s not talk about how long ago that was!  but i wanted to make this posting because God’s been answering a lot of prayers (i mean, w/ the answer i was hoping for) these days.
     The older i have gotten, the less i have understood about prayer, what it is, how it works. Don’t get me wrong; of course I know intimately all the pat answers and info that i have learned throughout my life as a Christian and even some not-so-pat answers (cf. c.s. lewis). Lewis said that prayer changes us, not God, and that’s about all i can feel certain about. Time after time, I receive answers to my prayers but each time something new comes along I am in the same place I was before, wondering how it will all turn out. I think this is because my idea of God is not some Santa Claus-like person who is just waiting around at our beck and call to dispense happiness and good times. I mean, there have been many times when certain prayers have NOT been answered with a ‘yes’ and the resulting period has really REALLY sucked. So when something turns out a ‘yes’, I’m just so grateful because it could have so easily been ‘no’ or ‘wait’ (i’m using Christian lingo here, I know; sorry, Sharon 😛 (we both abhor christianese)….). 
     Anyway, so I just wanted to say that good things have been happening and I’m thankful. It’s not big stuff but it has been giving me a feeling of gratefulness and w/ T-day just around the corner, I guess it’s appropriate to make this (absurdly long) posting…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robberfly
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 13:14:41

    i understand what you mean.

    i feel like i understand it less and less the older i get too. it seems like such a purposeless activity sometimes, because God’s gonna do what he wants to do (but He can be ‘swayed’ too)
    .

    But for whatever reason He likes for us to pray.
    Don’t know why…..

    Reply

  2. nikkip
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 14:23:30

    i can’t wait to chat with you this weekend!

    Reply

  3. micheledwest
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 16:11:56

    you guys rock! here’s another thot, tho: I don’t blame God for the bad things that go on because, well, shit happens, let’s be honest. But on the other hand, I always thank God for the good stuff. Now why is this? If God doesn’t make the bad stuff happen (it’s not Satan, either …but then, you knew that) does he make the good stuff happen? Why not both? But I couldn’t believe in a god who causes the bad stuff. Can I have it both ways? One part of me says yes, another part says God established a great system and, while a compassionate listener, lets it take it’s course while we go about our busines of working out our salvation, that is, refining our spiritual being, whether positively or negatively (thru inaction/non-choice)…kind of a dichotomy but it’s where i am right now

    Reply

  4. robberfly
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 17:48:29

    i don’t think God causes the bad stuff, but rather allows it to happen.

    of course our idea of what the ‘bad’ stuff is could be altogether completely different than God’s.

    i know it says give thanks in all things. I suppose that means giving thanks for the bad stuff even when things don’t work out your way, because for whatever reason God knows it’s good for you.

    Reply

  5. The Mom
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 00:12:18

    1) Prayer is a two-way street.
    2) We cannot understand the infinite mind of God.
    3) Do it because God tells us to, and God knows best. Period.
    (And be prepared to be amazed!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

