The Cold Hard Truth

I have to tell you something. I keep the thermostat of my house at 60 most of the time; during the day, I turn it down to 57 or 58 and I just work in one room and turn on a  space heater. Troy and I started doing this last year when gas prices were high. We have kept on doing this; I would rather put on a sweater than crank up the heat b/c a) I don’t want to pay more and b) it’s better for the environment. The good thing is that your body adjusts to whatever temp is familiar so to put the thermostat at 65 seems like a luxurious sauna to me. Unfortunately, it also prevents me from recognizing what may or may not be a comfortable temperature for others.  Alas for our poor guests this weekend; I think they were frozen bits of walking human popsicle by the time they left our house.  😦 

(And just so everyone knows, this is something that runs in my family. My one uncle keeps his house a constant balmy 55, even on the coldest of days 😉 )

Even though our guests were miserable, Troy and I had a fun time with them. Perhaps we enjoy other people’s suffering. They were kind enough to eat all the Korean food I made and were kind enough to pretend to enjoy themselves the rest of the weekend, as well. I hope they will come again soon and I will try to remember to turn up the thermostat even more if they do.

In other news, Troy proved himself to be not only handsome but handy by installing a new tap fixture for the bathroom sink. the old one was leaking ever more profusely so we went and got a new one, which he kindly handled for me.  The new one is much better in that a) it doesn’t leak and b) it has old-fashioned handles so it goes much better w/ the era of our house.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nikkip
    Nov 20, 2006 @ 15:00:08

    i will attest to the fact that it was indeed a chilly house…but it is definitely a cozy house, too!

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Nov 20, 2006 @ 20:33:20

    This is ONE houseguest who will shiver neither quietly nor graciously. Be forewarned:)

    Reply

  3. norba920
    Nov 21, 2006 @ 12:05:19

    i concur with n. cold yet cozy. i was surprised how quickly my body adjusted to it, though. but i guess that could also be from the maker’s (or market, or mama, or whatever that stuff is called)…
    overall: great house and fantastic hosts. A+!

    Reply

  4. micheledwest
    Nov 22, 2006 @ 17:46:56

    Well, Troy did tell me that he turned the thermostat all the way up to 68 (which is why we were sweating^^). But yes it could have been the Maker’s

    Reply

Leave a Reply

