News flash

Those inflatable and oh-so-rapidly-becoming-ubiquitous holiday decorations–you know the ones I mean: giant Grinches, or Santas or Scoobie-Doos wearing Santa hats–they are not charming. They are not cute nor are they whimsical.  The only word that could possibly apply to them is tacky. I am sorry if you have one in your front yard; truly, I’m sorry. Please go remove it at once.  Alledgedly, there was someone going around slashing these things. They called it ‘criminal’; I call it ‘just desserts’.

Seriously, how does your neighborhood decorate for Christmas?  Ours is an older, blue-collar neighbor so sad to say there are lots of inflatable decorations. Some streets have gone all out. One house about 5 or 6 blocks down from us has so many Christmas decs out that they fill up the side yard and the roof. I tried to take a picture of it all but there was too much.  That whole street is gung-ho but then other streets are not so much. We put our tree up in the front window and ran some lights down our new porch railing. I put up some icicle lights around the porch roof but they fell down and I haven’t bothered to put them back up yet so they are kind of just lying on the porch in a bunch. Ho, ho, ho.  At least I tried.  How about you guys?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nikkip
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 10:28:43

    well, michele, it’s time for me to confess. at halloween time, we had a giant witch on a pumpkin blown up in our yard. my mother-in-law gave it to us, and we just had to put it out for the girls. no one in our neighborhood had ever put out a blow up figure before. but suddenly, christmas is here, and a full out competition has ensued. first there was a yard with one, then another neighbor put two out, then the people across the street put three out. yes, it’s tacky, but the kids love it.

    and guess what my mil brought over to our house 2 days ago? an eight foot blow up thing in the shape of a snow globe with 3 characters in it and snow blowing around!!!! yep, we’re going to beat ’em all out with this magnificent display.

    Reply

  2. micheledwest
    Dec 21, 2006 @ 11:17:14

    Where, o, where is the keen design sense the Pappases are so well known for? Alas, alas, I weep and wail. I hope you will at least win the competition. Or do I? I’m not sure…I’ll have to think about that!

    Reply

  3. robberfly
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 08:17:32

    “just desserts”

    that’s hilarious

    Reply

Leave a Reply

