Welcome home to me

Got back last night from my dad’s in Indy and went straight down to the Blue Wisp to see the Wed night Big Band that they have there. The place was packed, SRO, so we were kind of standing up, jammed in a corner for the first set but we got seats after that. It was a wall of jazz sound, really great.  There was some apparently well-known trumpet player filling in that night by the name of Vinny De Martino but I have no clue; Brandon, maybe you can help out.  Sadly, we found out that the bassist we had seen just a few weeks ago at the Christmas show died on Christmas Day. Anyway, it was a really good show and is every Wednesday so check it out if you have some free time.

I got to meet my brother’s girlfriend, Rachel, the singing sailor. How cute is she?! She’s very awesome even tho I only got to spend about 2 hours with her. But then, I’m not the one it’s important to spend time with. Anyway, she’s very cool so I approve.

Lastly, I may have to take over an Intensive English course when we start back up in January so I am really not looking forward to that because these classes are 3 hours long so it’ll be 6-9 pm on Tues/Thurs pm. Suck. I told my coordinator he could fire me if he wanted to. We’ll see if he takes me up on it. I hope so because I got used to having my weekends free over this last session. It’ll be back to working everyday if I have to do this class since it’s so prep-intensive. Sucky-suck.

What are you guys doing for New Year’s, or did I already ask that?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. norba920
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 17:57:59

    alright! glad you kids made it back home safely. we’ll definitely hit the blue wisp next wednesday. or some other time.
    happy new year!

    Reply

  2. Lil Bro B-dawg
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 21:42:52

    Vince De Martino is a fabulous trumpet player! I wish I could have gotten the chance to hear him. I don’t know who all he has played with, probably a long list, I just know he’s fab.

    Reply

  3. micheledwest
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 09:59:20

    Thanks for the info, B. I figured he must have been relatively well-known b/c one of the other trumpet players kept taking pictures of him when he would solo. I wish you could have been there, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

