Blogs: A theory

1. I just can’t stop reading Miss Doxie. Y’all.  And really maybe I should stop since, lesson plans? what lesson plans?

2. I really dropped the ball on coming up with pseudonyms today (sorry, Nikki). But I blame Jeff for exerting undue pressure, ALL UNBEKNOWNST to me, for witticism which caused any kind of remote yet oh-so-tedious claim to witticism I may even remotely think about having to dry up and become even more, well, remote.

C. SOMEONE in my house that I live with and know very well has a great disdainful disdain for blogs. (and no, it’s not Ollie, but I won’t say who it is because that person has informed me that I am forbidden to blog about him). This person who is not Ollie insists he cannot see the charm of blogging. Little does he know of the great vast feeling of happiness and importance that comes when there is a Comment in the Comment Box. Someone Cares About Me, you think! Aha, someone has Read What I Wrote and didn’t fall so quickly asleep that they didn’t respond (well, maybe they did but how do I know?). So I told Troy Someone my theory about this and that is that almost all the 2 people that I read regularly that blog regularly have, at some point in their lives, been an English Major. So what I think is that people who have at some point in their lives been, or even remotely considered being, or knew someone who was, an English Major likes to blog. What do you guys think about this? Because Troy Someone who does not like blogs is the kind of person who was NOT an English Major; he is the kind of person who likes stuff that is hard to do like science and music theory and counting. So here’s to the English Teacher in all of us: yes or no?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nikkip
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 09:39:41

    there’s that, and there’s the option that he may just like to rain on your parade. 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 11:48:04

    I LOVE reading YOUR blog, but then, I’m the Mom. (And I’m also the kind of person who reads the stuff printed on the backs of cereal boxes. I need a life!!!)

    Reply

  3. micheledwest
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 12:42:59

    Well, I’m not saying he doesn’t like to read them, I’m just saying he is not attracted to the idea of doing it himself (because he wasn’t an English Major!!!!)

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 21:17:15

    English majors rule the world. Or they *should*, if they don’t already. Tell Ollie I like his blurb and especially the pictures that go rolling by, for lack of a better term. It’s pretty much a crime when an English major can’t be articulate. He who dislikes blogs actually got a master’s with the word ENGLISH in it. I know. I was there. So he has absolutely NO excuse.

    Reply

  5. micheledwest
    Jan 09, 2007 @ 21:22:07

    I’m so going to get in trouble for causing such a stir about Somebody!

    Reply

  6. the guy you thought was rude
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 19:22:55

    No English major here. My ex wife was, does that count?

    Reply

  7. micheledwest
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 20:22:03

    Rude guy: hm, i’ll have to think about it. was your major something non-sciency?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

