What I learned today. By Michele.

Today, I didn’t work for ETS. Allegdly, ETS didn’t “need help” today. ETS pays me for sitting on my butt at home listening to people talk, so when they don’t “need” me, I feel sad. But, today I determined to put my time-of-not-getting-paid-by-ETS to good use and do the “online training” for my “adult education” program that I have been putting off for 6 months (mostly because I couldn’t find out how to access the trainings, which wasn’t my fault because apparently I had to sign up in this different place that nobody told me about). Kids, I have worked on these trainings all day, these trainings-I-do-for-free-on-my-own-time-because-it’s-mandatory. It was not interesting, it was not exciting, even though it was all about adult education!  That is hard to believe, I know.  So I thought I would pass along a few of the nuggets I spent my day garnering (for free for the State of Kentucky):
1. Cora Wilson Stewart pioneered adult ed in the US in the early part of the 20th Century. She traveled around the country and world promoting adult ed. And she died at 86 in an old folks’ home w/ only a pittance to live on. Let this be a lesson to you, oh you overly-ambitious over-acheivers! Or, let this be a lesson to you, oh you overly-good do-gooders!
2. 50 – 80% of adult ed students have some kind of learning disability or other. (not talking ESL here. Not speaking English is not actually a learning disability, no matter what some people in this country might actually think!)
3. There is a 21% turnover rate/year for employees in adult ed.
4. Most adult ed educators have part-time postions. There are few full-time positions (see #3)
5. Most adult ed educators do not “participate in the field of adult education”, which can be:
                      a. provide professional development for others
                      b. facilitate a workshop
                      c. participate in a curriculum development project.
     Somehow, one got the feeling that not “participating in the field” was a negative thing, to which I say: see #4

In sum, this is my belief: wanting more participation (see #5) + #4 = #3.

Leave a Reply

