Sundry

1) Tonight we started a chapter entitled “Forbidden Foods”. I started off by showing the scene from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom where they are eating the monkey brains and various other delicacies. Then throughout the rest of the class as we talked about food related topics (we haven’t even gotten to taboos yet), my West African student kept going on and on about how bad pork was for you. Hello, it’s your religion. *sigh*

2) As we talked about the USDFA Food Pyramid, I warned them that processed carbs were bad. They should eat the dark breads and pastas. And my Costa Rican student said, ‘so dark bread like chocolate bread?’ Ah, a girl after my own heart.

2) Driving home on Tues and Thurs, I leave class after nine. The NPR program is ‘When Radio Was’ and they play all kinds of old time radio (some programs with which my husband is quite familiar since he grew up w/out a tv and his family had to listen to ‘When Radio Was’ back then, too. What a throwback!^^). The programs even include the ad spots for the various sponsors and it struck me tonight how similar the rhetoric for advertising in the 40s is to the kind of rhetoric I’ll come across in some of the documents I get from Korea, like for PR for cities or provinces or something, that kind of florid, adjective rich style. Interesting, eh?

Leave a Reply

