The Seeds of…something

Last night I dreamt all night of: Seeds, the use thereof.  I may be getting a little overboard in my garden obsession. No, never! No such thing has been heard of, I am sure.  It is just miraculous to me that something the size of a pinhead will grow into a plant. I’ve been starting seeds indoors this week (I know I’m a little bit behind). I just marvel at it. This is only my second year of gardening, my second year to start seeds, but I just LOVE IT. I had such good luck starting seeds indoors last year that i’m doing it again this year.  I am going to try sowing some, as well, maybe with the leftovers of some of the packets.  Also starting a pot of catnip for the kitties. heh, heh. Kitties are funny when they are high.

Also: weather near the 80s this weekend and humid. It feels like July already and it is only March. Fortunately the air is still cool when the breeze blows. And, it is still only 64 in my house. I wish I could bottle the cool air for the summer months. We’ve discussed maybe bringing our bed down to the living room for the summer so we use less air con. Extreme? Nah. Just practical. It gets really hot upstairs and that is a benefit of having so much portable furniture!

Also: everything green is springing up and I do mean springing. There are all these little stands of grass sprouting all over the lawn but it is not uniform, just here and there. Kind of funny looking. But what is not funny looking is the grass sprouting up in my flower beds.  Stupid grass.  If only I knew where all my flowers were, I could take off the mulch, add some newspaper and cover it back up again.  But I was not that organized last year.

Green bits of the lilacs and lillies and tulips are making an appearance and the honeysuckle bushes are getting buds.  I have read 3 internet sites about dividing hostas; 2 told me to do it in the fall and 1 in the spring. Maybe I won’t divide them this year. Doesn’t that sound like something a one-year -old would like to ‘help with’ next year?  My baby will be garden friendly early on, I have a feeling. Or garden exposed. Or something like that. Maybe that’s why I love to garden. I know when I was little one of my favorite things to do was to play in the mud (clad only in a pair of underwear). Some things never change (except the clothing part; I wear a bit more of that now).

Finally: What is the name of the kind of grass that looks like an onion at the root?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 15:02:36

    You are certainly your grandmother’s granddaughter…except I don’t ever remember her gardening in her underwear:)

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Mar 25, 2007 @ 17:39:04

    IS there another way?^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

