No Show

Dear Student,

You wrote to me TWO WEEKS after the end of the class, quite desperate to make up the final because obviously if you didn’t, you don’t pass the class. So I arranged to meet you last evening at 6 p.m. down at the school, which is 40 minutes from my house, after I worked all day.  There was also a teacher’s meeting scheduled for that time, not that I was required to go, but I thot that if I had to meet you, it might as well be good to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

So why didn’t you come?  You had seemed quite sincere when you emailed me and quite grateful to have a chance to make the test up.  I’m certainly glad I didn’t make an extra trip just for you because would it have ended up the same?  I even checked my email before I left home to make sure you hadn’t cancelled.  I had to SIT THRU THE ENTIRE MEETING with its obligatory PowerPoint presentation and weak jokes!

I thought that you were a nice guy but that is really rude behaviour. I hope you feel ashamed of yourself. YOu have certainly taught me again the fact that being too nice really gets you nowhere except getting taken advantage of and having to endure boring meetings that are not relevant to you at this point in time.

Sincerely,

Your Former Teacher

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Mar 28, 2007 @ 15:37:44

    Did you actually send this? If not, I think you should. PLUS give him a failing grade!

    The Mom

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Mar 28, 2007 @ 20:35:07

    Well, if he writes me again trying to make up the final, this is essentially what I will tell him. And if he doesn’t make up the final he won’t pass so my problem is solved for me either way! This is the problem when students don’t have to pay. There’s really only internal motivation to drive them instead of the external pressure of having forked out money and not wanting to waste it. Ah, well, not my problem any more! Thank goodness 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

