Tip of the Day

When brushing your teeth, be sure to breathe through your nose. Breathing through your mouth could cause you to inhale toothpaste and this, according to my highly unscientific experiment (don’t try this at home! Paid professional toothbrusher only!), this is not a good thing. One might even be led to believe that the lungs are unsuited for the inhalation of toothpaste. I know. This seems very surprising, doesn’t it?

 In other news: turns out that the biggest anxiety for the women in my unmedicated childbirth class is that they will have to have a c-section (for me, too). This came out during a ‘small group activity’ (ack! there is no escape from small group activities!) and I would agree with them on that.  Who wants major surgery if it can be at all avoided?  Major surgery, it is not a fun thing. But some of the women there said that several of the women they knew who are pregnant have already scheduled their surgery date and are looking forward to it. ARE THEY INSANE?  According to the one women, who just finished her nursing training, after they take out the baby, they flop the uterus up on the mom’s chest and massage it for awhile to get the placent to contract out before stuffing it (the uterus) back in.  Maybe that was too much information for you.  There is a reason there is a big ol’ tent of fabric strategically placed in front of mom’s face.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nikkip
    Jun 13, 2007 @ 23:24:56

    i hear you on the c-section! we need to talk soon. when, though?

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 07:56:26

    I agree! Call me this weekend!

    Reply

  3. cath
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 11:27:28

    I know you posted this almost a year ago, but I just found it by Googling “inhale toothpaste” after conducting my own (accidental) experiment. I’m glad to see that you survived. I was actually scared that I was dying at one point. If there’s anyone out there who’s tempted to try inhaling while brushing, for the love of all that is good and holy, DON’T!

    Reply

  4. cath
    Apr 23, 2008 @ 11:28:19

    By the way… I hope all has gone well with you childbirth- and baby-wise 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

