Conundrum

Sitting here this morning thinking about this.  There’s a person to whom I am very closely related in a genetic sort of way.  This person is not very good at writing letters (how many people are?) and neither has this person figured out how to hit the ‘reply’ button to respond to emails (I’m not exaggerating).  Therefore, pretty much the sole medium of communication between this person and me is the telephone.  When I lived in Korea–for 3.5 years–this person would call, I suppose, three or four times per year, maybe a few more if this person had figured out where to go to get an international calling card.  No emails were sent. A few cards were sent at holidays and birthdays, sometimes not even then, this person preferring to wait until our summer trip home to just give me the card.

My brother is also, strangely enough, very closely related to this person. When my brother joined the Navy about a year and a half ago, this person managed to write to him, maybe not weekly but fairly regularly for this person. Boot camp lasting, you see, all of 8 weeks.  Now that my brother has been deployed at sea for the staggering length of time of 4 months, this person has also been sending, according to him, a weekly letter to my brother.

Now. Just how exactly am I supposed to interpret that, I wonder.

I am not jealous of my brother, whom I love dearly and don’t hold responsible for this at all.  But I do wonder if this person ever considered that the lack of closeness between us is maybe not, as I’m sure he thinks, all my fault.

Why didn’t he ever write to me? I wonder indeed.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 09:05:35

    My heart breaks every time I read this.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 09:29:33

    Well, don’t worry about it too much. It is just par for the course, as we both well know!! I’m not going to bust my butt trying to make things ‘better’ or feel like somehow it is my responsibility when this is the current state of affairs. I am not the one losing out and I am beginning to be able to realize that and act accordingly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

