Ohio Super Miles Chunk

So yesterday I was reading Michael’s blog about his son weighing like 21 lbs at 8 1/2 months and I thot, uh, my son only weighs 9 lbs less and he is only 6 weeks old!  Yikes!  Obviously he can’t sustain the rate of weight gain that he has enjoyed thus far but can you imagine if he did? It makes my back hurt just thinking about it. Oh, wait, no my back was already hurting.  I guess he just came out one month ahead of normal newborns, which, given his rough start was probably a point in his favor.

Actually, it’s my legs that hurt.  Having him in the carrier, I can’t bend from the waist and have to squat to pick up anything (and, hi! I seem to drop EVERYTHING when he’s in the carrier!), which I know is good body mechanics but I don’t seem to have adjusted. I’m going to have super-muscular thighs before he starts moving under Miles-steam.

Anyway, he is a chunk but CUTE (Mommy LOVES  the cute naked baby 🙂  ) so I forgive him needing to be in the carrier constantly and suddenly wanting to nurse every 2 hours again (what’s with that?  He was going 3 or 3 1/2 hours last week and then after his vaccinations on Monday it was suddenly like, FEED ME CONSTANTLY. I thought that was just residual pain related stuff but maybe he suddenly thot, hey, constant buffet! woohoo!) altho I could do without the ‘i refuse to fall asleep until I have cried and/or screamed for at least 10 minutes unless you a) go for a walk with me outside or b) deafen me and yourself with the vacuum’.

He’s my cute not-so-small son….

miles_week_6-012_2.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robberfly
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 09:01:37

    he looks like you!

    patrick gained 4 lbs his first month, and then 2 lbs/month for the next few. (he was 7lbs,7oz when born).

    he definitely has slowed down since then, maybe putting on a 1/2 lb every month, but yeah most babies don’t weigh 20+ lbs until they are around a year old.

    after that it slows down even more. patrick’s sister, kate, is 3 years older than him and she only weighs 16 lbs more than he does.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Nov 15, 2007 @ 11:54:23

    He acts like me, too…eats, sleeps (preferably both at the same time) and cries about dumb stuff. 😛

    And GOOD to know about his weight! 😀 I would be Super-buff Mom if he kept up the weight gain of the first month. But at least he’s not like that 17 pound newborn they had in Russia recently! Can you imagine?

    BTW, your kids are real cuties^^ (as I’m sure you know) I enjoy your posts about them

    Reply

  3. robberfly
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 08:43:01

    thanks. we get regular reports from several sources about their cuteness, so it is good to know that it is not just us that think that!

    i couldn’t imagine a 17 lb baby. that would be nuts. but you should expect to get some buffness thanks to carrying your kid around all the time. i remember sara’s arms getting quite toned and muscular the first time around.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

