Success, for now

When we stayed with the smallson in the NICU, one of the best pieces, if not THE best piece, of advice about breastfeeding I got from one of the NICU nurses.  She told me to give it 8 weeks before giving up.  And so that was my goal.  As it turned out it only took Baby Miles and me 6 weeks to get there but they were a LONG six weeks of pain, and crying and pumping and more crying and more pumping.  While it still occasionally feels like rubbing a cheese grater on the girls, the difference between then and now is night and day.  I actually didn’t think it would work out but since that last meeting with the lactation consultant, it has.  I am pumping once during the night now more to get a break than because I need to physically. Plus, it gives Troy a chance to feed baby, as well, because otherwise Troy would just be sleeping through the night and that would be too boring, right?

Without the support I got from friends and family I couldn’t have persisted (well, that and a high pain tolerance AND being too damn pigheaded to stop when it was good for me) and I now have the utmost understanding for women who can’t go on because of the pain or for whatever other reason and how devastating that can be.  I don’t know how long Baby Miles and I will be able to go on; he still uses his gums a lot because of the tongue tie and so when that first tooth comes in, that might be the end. On the other hand, maybe his tongue will have loosened up enough by then to cover his gums and we’ll be able to go a lot longer. Who knows? At any rate, I’m just glad to be able to do it for this first little while.

Glad…except when that 4:30/5 a.m. feeding rolls around because SURELY he could sleep a little longer!

Leave a Reply

