Medical Community, see: going against

I have a hard time going against the advice given by the medical community.  Take, for instance, Miles’s hearing test that he had today. It was abundantly apparent to his parents and all others that have interaction with him that his hearing is fine but of course we took him to the follow up exam because it is too nerve-wracking to say, ‘no, our baby is fine, he doesn’t need that test’. Same thing when we took him home from the NICU: the doctor wanted him to stay one more day, I pretty much knew that one more day would push me over the edge and that he was fine but it took a lot of confidence building from my mom to make me comfortable in saying to that doc that we would just take him home Tuesday not Wednesday, thanks all the same.  And again, with his MRI coming up; because the DOCTOR recommended it, we feel like we need to do it. (By the way, his hearing WAS fine even according to the silly machines that may or may not go ping.)

Another fine example is the whole ‘Back to Sleep’ thing. Currently, it is 3:40 a.m. and I have just spent a fruitless hour and a half trying to get Miles to sleep again on his back. Pretty much since he came home he has not slept except on his stomach and I am always rigid with fear that he will succumb to SIDS. So tonight I thot that, well, he’s a little older now so maybe he’ll do better with it. But…wrong.  My husband and mom will say ‘I told you so’ but some factors for SIDS include the highest prevalence in babies from 2-4 mos, fall/winter/early spring months, and 60% of babies who die from SIDS are boys.  I am sure there are other perhaps even more significant factors (such as smoking, prenatal care, pre-term births, dangerous sleeping environments, etc) but for me, the 1 in 1000 odds just seems so great. I know it’s not.  (For example, my brother the sailor, who was also born in September in those halcyon days before cars seats–Baby HATES car seats, hate, hate–and the “Back to Sleep” Campaigns,  was put to bed on his tummy pretty much all wrapped up in a blanket, even over his little head) But I also know my son is and has been since day 1, resistant to back sleeping. He sleeps so well (er, ok, relatively well…even on his tummy he’s a restless little guy) on his tummy that it is hard to justify moving him to his back if he wakes every hour or hour and a half and then won’t go back to sleep for another hour or hour and a half.

So for the next month or so, at least until he’s 5 mos, I think that I’ll just have him in his little snuggle nest next to me on the bed so that I can reassure myself with just a touch of the hand that, yes, he’s still breathing.  I know it’s nuts and that he will be fine but…well, it’ll make me feel better, that’s all.

Ok, going to go back to bed now.

g’night.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 15:34:39

    Having him in the snuggle bed next to you makes perfect sense. That way both he and therefore you will get more much-needed sleep, and you can reassure yourself as needed – if you wake up during those hours. I’m all for compromise during the child-rearing years.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 12:20:52

    i tend to wake up more to check on him when he’s right next to me than when he’s in the crib but i guess that’s ok at least until he can turn over and make his own sleep position decisions (no that we don’t know what that will be!)^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

