Extra! Extra! Read all about it!

I was going to write about my birthday weekend and how splendid it was and how kind my mom was to come down and entertain the SmallSon and how kind my stepdad was to come down and install shelves and under-the-counter lighting and how kind my husband was to split the night shift with my mom so that I could sleep for 12 hours with just one interruption to nurse at night.  And I was also going to mention going to the Mediterranean restaurant and eating yummy shish kharouf and even finding that actually I do like olives (but only the green ones) after 35 years of believing otherwise, and having a yummy Belgian beer and being too tired to stay to watch the bellydancer.  And how my mom made the chocolate cake that she always makes and that Miles stayed asleep long enough for us to open presents and eat cake without him demanding adoration.

But I won’t be talking about that.

Instead, I would like to say that Baby Miles slept from 8 p.m. to 5 a.m. last night. Without waking.  Oh, he acted like he was going to around 930 and around 11 but with the strategic use of several hair dryers and a white-noise machine (I kid you not. This kid’s room is a cacophony of mechanical drone), I kept him asleep and he hardly made a peep until 5.  I woke up at 430 in a panic and jumped up to look in his crib because I was sure something horrible had happened.  But he was squirming enough to reassure me. 

The only problem with these long stretches is that by the time he is ready to eat again I am sore, sore, sore. I dreamt all night of trying to find my breast pump and after I woke up at 430 I couldn’t get back to sleep and was just WAITING for him to wake up.  I understand how the poor cows feel when they don’t get milked.  Just say the word: ‘engorgement’. I promise you it is as uncomfortable as it sounds.

However!  I am not complaining even thought it sounds like I am!  I do not expect that this will be the Way of Things Permanently now but I am relieved to know that he can actually do it and that someday, some beautiful, far-off, delightful day, it WILL be the Way of Things Permanently. 

And that is a wonderful thought.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 15:38:32

    I sometimes wonder how his first 4 days in NICU might have affected his ability to sleep for long stretches of time. We’ll never know.

    Reply

  2. nikki
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 11:06:05

    wow. sounds like you have had quite a fantastic few days! yay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

