Damned Foreigners

So yesterday the PNW (Pacific Northwest) got dumped on with some lovely snow that they didn’t see fit to share with us here in the southern mid-west.  This is Point One.

Point Two is: I know many people in various stages of citizenship-ness. One of these people, from Guatemala, is married to a LOVELY friend of mine and is therefore also a friend of mine since any husband of my friend is also my friend.

How do these relate?  Well, yesterday said friend’s husband walked SEVERAL MILES in the snow UP HILLS (but hopefully not barefoot) to get to work after he had to abandon his car due to the roads being clogged/an accident ahead/some such general nonsense.  Now, how many people do you know that would do that?  Not me. No, I sure would not. I would either a) turn the car around and go home, b) call someone to come get me and c) call in to work.  That man is a dedicated individual and I for one am proud that he has chosen to grace the U.S. with his presence and his work ethic EVEN THOUGH, as some people would think, he is a ‘foreigner’.

Hats off to Cesar. He is, indeed, the man.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Am&Ces
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 21:38:54

    We got a real kick out of your posting. Cesar & I wish everyone had your attitude and heart. Love you bunches!
    Si todos pensaran como tu, este mundo seria feliz por siempre.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jan 30, 2008 @ 12:07:53

    !Si, absolutamente! 😀

    Reply

  3. Sharon Sue
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 23:44:19

    Amen. I figure the real reason some people get in such a snit about others in various stages of citizenshipness is that so many of the latter people have such incredible work ethics and perseverance that the aforesaid prejudiced people don’t want their own laziness and lack of generosity exposed by comparison. And I don’t think I was on drugs when I wrote that sentence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

