The Dumb, Evil Mommy and the Case of the Amazing Dream Baby

Last night I was a dumb, stupid, evil mommy…or maybe just my usual klutzy self.  I had Miles in the carrier when I misjudged my turn in one of the doorways and knocked his head against  the doorframe.  He cried. I cried.  He cried some more when I put cold compresses on it. I cursed myself roundly and apologized profusely.  He got a goose egg about the size of the tip of my thumb but it didn’t really bruise, which surprised me (obviously he doesn’t take after his mommy since I would have turned black, blue and purple on the spot).  After we put him to bed, he woke up about every 20 minutes or so when he would turn his head and brush against the bump.  So we ended up giving him some Tylenol drops and he slept very soundly until his usual 3 a.m. feeding.

As I was nursing him to sleep after the Tylenol drops, I started to be drowsy myself (don’t worry; I have him between 2 foam props so he can’t roll into me and I sleep too lightly when he’s with me to roll on him. ahem.) You know when you are in the stage between sleeping and waking and so you dream but think that you are awake? I dreamt that I put Miles back into his crib and sang him Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star and he sang right along with me w/ perfect diction and melody and everything and I was so stunned that I sang it again with him and then he counted for me up to 15 before he couldn’t count any higher and I rushed into our bedroom to tell Troy that our son could both sing AND count all at 4 months.

I’m glad he can’t talk yet because he would probably have given me a tongue lashing for bumping his head for him.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 17:20:58

    Of course, I never inadvertently injured either of MY children, but your situation reminds me of when Kelly dropped Kendyl from the bathroom counter onto the floor. There was much weeping and wailing and gnashing of teeth that night (and not all from Kendyl) as Kelly berated herself for being an incompetent and unworthy mother. Fortunately, babies are very short on memory and long on forgiveness.

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 17:23:02

    P.S. – And what makes you think you were only dreaming?????

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 23:21:45

    I was getting ready to leave once and had Emma in the car seat on the couch. One of our dogs jumped off the couch when I called her to the kitchen, and the motion was enough to flip the car seat off the couch. Emma wacked her head, just above her eye, on the corner of the coffee table. I freaked out, then called the ask-a-nurse line to see what I should do given the closeness to her eye (the answer was nothing). She has a scar, but it’s migrated up under her hairline now (as the nurse also predicted at the time).

    Then there was the time I reached too far to get the towel, letting my hand move away from her back and she went under the bath water for a split second (also called ask-a-nurse on that one, who said not to worry because she would have instinctively held her breath at her age).

    I could probably go on, but might end up having someone track me down for being somewhere between a mediocre and bad parent…

    Reply

  4. nikkip
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 21:12:47

    it would be nearly impossible to tell you the many times my children have been victim to my accident prone life.

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 16:53:09

    Frankly, I am comforted to hear that everyone else’s children have survived the clutches of their mommies. It is a hard, hard world to be a child in, is it not?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

