So, okay, so it ISN’T easy being green

Remember my Earth Day post? The one were I was supercilious and very self-righteous about loving the Earth more than you?  The one where I chastized you for not using a rotary push mower?  Yeah, about that.

It took me AN HOUR AND A HALF to mow the stupid yard today. ONE HOUR. AND ONE HALF HOUR. PUT TOGETHER. That is approximately TWICE as long as it took when we used a gas powered mower. I have a 7 month old…I do not have TIME to mow the yard for an hour and half!  I have other things to do with that time, such as eat chocolate chip cookies! and drink coffee!  No planet is worth that!

The problem is that the STUPID DUMB grass (dumb, stupid grass / a pain in the ass / won’t grow where you want it / but does where you don’t) grew about 15 FEET this week and since I have  A SEVEN MONTH OLD I didn’t have time to get to it on, say, Wednesday, when it was only SEVEN feet tall. So that took forever. And then, these stupid rotary mowers that alledgedly save the planet but give you a stroke from being so pissed off? Their blades get caught on every little piece of mulch or twig or AIR PARTICLE that happens to be in a TEN FOOT RADIUS and so you have to stop every three milliseconds to free up the blades.

So, you can see that 3 milliseconds x 15 feet + stroke / loss of chocolate-chip-cookie-eating-time = Evil Day and not feeling like saving the planet.

And then the rain clouds came again so I had to hurry and finish mowing so I could take the diapers off the line.

And you know what?  After some HIGHLY SCIENTIFIC research, I found out that there are about 18 people in the U.S. that use these damn rotary or reel or WHATEVER you are supposed to call them mowers and half of them live in the PNW and there are about TWO people in Cincinnati who use one and, after I have come close to being apopleptic SEVERAL TIMES in the hour and a half it took to mow the stupid grass, I just start wondering, is it really worth it?  There is no way my little reel/rotary/whatever mower is going to save the Earth. Why am I busting my butt for no reason?  I really have pathetically little impact on environmental conservation and at times like today, I just want to give up and just not even try the pathetically little that I do.

BUT. The yard is mowed and it looks nice and even if I haven’t single-handedly saved the planet, at least I can enjoy a job well-done.

Until next week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    May 05, 2008 @ 08:13:30

    If you really decide to get rid of the reel mower, I know a Burmese widow who is looking for one for their postage-stamp sized yard (who also has 7 children to take turns pushing the **** thing.) They don’t have a cent to their name, as they are new refugees and the house was given to them, but if you donate it to Friends of Burma you could get tax credit for it.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    May 05, 2008 @ 08:44:02

    I probably won’t give up on it yet. But, we still have that Lawnboy that you gave us…I don’t know if it finally gave up the ghost…we gave up on it but maybe someone (ie, bob) could tinker w/ it and get it back in order for them?
    Maybe some of us could all go in together and buy them a reel mower? It would probably be better than a gas one for them so they don’t have to bother with that…

    Reply

  3. The Mom
    May 05, 2008 @ 13:01:35

    I’m sure they can’t afford gas for a power mower. How much is a reel mower? Neil
    Sowards is trying to find a used one for mere pennies, of course. Perhaps you could check FreeCycle in your area. Bob and I could always pick it up if you find one.

    Reply

  4. ~m
    May 05, 2008 @ 18:46:35

    They’re about $90 at Lowe’s. I have advertised on Freecycle here before for one but never found one. Maybe you could try Ft Wayne?
    I was thinking you guys, Troy & I, and Brandon could all go in on one? What do you think about it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

