Happy Mother’s Day

One thing that I have really appreciated through these past 7 months of being a parent is getting to know my mom as A mom, not just MY mom, learning about how she coped with the same things I am trying to deal with know, seeing her as a veteran in the child-rearing field.

This is a whole new dynamic in our relationship, which has always been close, and I am grateful for yet another opportunity to bond with her.

Basically, my mom rocks and has dealt with a lot of stuff in her life with grace and aplomb.

Before she had kids, she was employed at a large corporation and living in a large city. She knew what it was like to walk down city blocks lined with tall buildings, to hear the whoosh of traffic and feel the pulse of the city and its inhabitants. She had a job that (I assume) she enjoyed and she brought in a wage that helped support her and her husband whilst he was finishing school (also with her help). Then she was transplanted to a rural setting in which the nearest neighbor was a mile away. She didn’t have a car and suddenly she had a baby and then another baby.

I don’t know how she did it. There was a church community to support her but still…her mom was hours away and you didn’t just pick up the phone and dial long-distance or at least not when you were a country church pastor’s wife.  I live in a small town and I have a car and I can walk to the library and drugstore and all kinds of stuff and I have a cell phone that I can call her or anybody anytime and I STILL have trouble coping.

I don’t know how she did it during those early years and even down the road but that is another story.  But I DO know that her hard work and her investment in her kids and her total immersion in struggling to socialize two young human beings and connect with them on a very deep level has paid off. My mom is one of the main sources of comfort in my life and she is one of my best friends as well. And I’m so grateful for her sacrifices then and her continuing sacrifices and help now.

I love you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    May 11, 2008 @ 17:23:17

    I, too, would like to say a big thank you to The Mom who reads this blog. You did a wonderful job. Your daughter is such a beautiful person and steady friend; thank you, thank you, thank you for nurturing her in a way that has resulted in her being the kind of friend who invites me to visit and feeds me baklava. And sends me packages of tea.

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    May 12, 2008 @ 08:22:57

    I am sooooo grateful for the gift of my 2 children. They did, and still do, make my life worthwhile. And now they are not only my children, but 2 of my BEST FRIENDS as well:)

    (P.S. – I remember that dress, Chele. Absolutely hated it. You would have loved it. It was charcoal grey with red and yellow flowers. I wanted PINK!!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

