Locked out!

This afternoon I accidently got locked out of the house.  I was out in the garden while Miles was ‘napping’ (actually, it turned out to be a 1.5 hr nap instead of the 30 min ‘nap’ of the morning) and Troy, who took the day off to study for the Financial Accounting and Reporting section of his CPA exam tomorrow (think nice thoughts for him! think nice thoughts for him!), ran to grab some lunch.  I had the monitor with me and so when I heard Miles starting to wake up, I went to the door and went to open it and…it wouldn’t open.

It was locked!

Oh. my. word.  I cannot TELL you how I felt. Immediately I called Troy and told him ‘EMERGENCY! EMERGENCY!’ or ‘the door is locked and Miles is waking up, can you come home’, one of the two.

And then I started freaking out. I think it was only five or six mintues by the clock till Troy got home but it seemed like FOREVER. And I was kicking the door and I was calling up to the bedroom ‘Miles! Miles’ as if he could even hear me over the din in his room, and meanwhile he’s getting more worked up.

The neighbor peeked over the fence and said ‘blahblahblah’ or maybe he said ‘are you locked out?’ and I think he offered to try to get a window open (they are all locked) and I remember that he also told me that that same thing had happened to him the other day and his daughter (who’s the same age as Miles) was freaking out by the time he got to her…I’m not sure how he did get to her…and I think I may have said something like ‘blahblah’ back to him but I was conflicted because Miles!  Crying!   I’m not there! and also because it’s only five minutes and I should be cool about it and not let my neighbor see that I am IN HYSTERICS and maybe even saying some bad words. Loudly.  I think the guy recognized that I wasn’t in the most chatty of moods because he disappeared. (Which I feel sorry about since he was just trying to be helpful.)

FORTUNATELY, at the very moment that I was trying to get a kitchen window open, in vain, of course, Troy came to a screeching halt in the drive and ran to open the door and we both ran up and made a Miles Sandwich.  And then I nursed Miles and he pooped in the potty  A LOT and everything was good.

(But I just don’t know how anyone can advise people to let their  babies cry it out (seriously?  one book I read said ‘if your baby naps for less than an hour, go ahead and let her cry for another hour to see if she’ll fall back asleep’. WHAT???).  Miles was only crying for 6 minutes and I was a hormonal catastrophe.) 

And though you would think this would cure me of gardening, it has not. I’ll just take my keys out with me next time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    May 22, 2008 @ 23:19:59

    Oh Michele, My maternal heart was pounding for you and Miels, er, Miles (because if he was Miels he would be plural French honey, if honey were a count noun in French) as I read the story. Stephanie once locked herself in the bathroom but she was maybe 18 mos and I frantically shoved crackers and then Easter eggs under the door to keep her from crying until Dan got home to help me get the door open. (A no-key lock, but it turns out the bathroom window was unlocked, duh, so we got in that way.) I’m glad Troy got home quickly. Now my heart rate is slowing.

    Reply

  2. nikkip
    May 24, 2008 @ 18:01:02

    how awful! glad it worked out. but the thing that caught my attention most in this post: miles pooped a lot in the potty. go miles!

    Reply

  3. ~m
    May 27, 2008 @ 19:10:14

    Hee! Thanks, Auntie Sharon and Auntie Nikki!
    Miles is a little Miel but not Miels since that is not possible.
    I’m glad Stephanie was not traumatized by said event but it sounds as it if it is etched indelibly on her mommy’s brain.
    Nikki, Miles has been pooping up a storm on the potty. Now if we could just get the tinkles in there, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

