Memorial Day weekend

I’ve got a bunch of things to say about last weekend and not much time to type them all!

Highlights included:

(At my mom’s)

Sleeping in whilst Mom took over Baby duties at 6 a.m. And on the nights that Troy stayed with Miles, I STILL got to sleep in so it was like a completely strange and new and wonderful sensation!

Going to a church meet-up group that my mom’s involved in and having real, live conversation with human adults on topics as varied as the DEPLORABLE evisceration of playgrounds (did you KNOW that SWINGS could be injurious weapons???Β  and therefore must be REMOVED??), city life vs. country life 45 years ago, and the state of the Karen people after the cyclone in Myanmar.

Going to Afternoon Tea at The Peony Tea Room with my mom.Β  Even though the tea tasted as if they had brewed a whole pot full in the morning and then just let it steep until customers came, we acted as blithe as if it had been freshly brewed just for us and enjoyed ourselves IMMENSELY (thank you, Troy)

Going to a Real Live movie with my husband after a Real Live dinner for Just The Two of Us (thank you, Mom)

Along with all this excitement, Miles turned 8 MONTHS OLD yesterday. He is practicing his Pre-Crawling Moves during the night now. It makes him cry.Β  Which in turn makes me cry.

Go, Miles, go!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bejewell
    May 30, 2008 @ 23:03:24

    You got to sleep in? I’m so jealous I can’t see straight.

    Congrats to Miles on the pre-crawling phase. Just wait ’til he really gets going!

    Reply

  2. ~m
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:46:33

    I KNOW. I keep wanting him to be able to move under his own steam and yet I know he’s going to be into EVERYTHING and I will rue the day that I wished for it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. bejewell
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 08:59:22

    Just hope he’s not a climber – we got one of those and it is a constant struggle!

    I spend a lot of time so eager for Sam to hit the next milestone – crawling, talking, walking, whatever it may be – and everyone says “you’ll be sorry” but so far, it’s all been a joy. I know once he really starts walking it might be more work, and I know that once he really starts talking it might get a little louder around here, but I can’t imagine any of it being anything less than spectacular. It’s all just a blast, and gets better every day!

    Reply

  4. ~m
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 18:56:08

    That’s awesome to hear πŸ™‚ Yeah, I’m thinking he might be a climber but we’ll see. I think the talking thing is going to be the most interesting…finding out what’s going on in their little head!

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 14:22:53

    Emma’s now six, and talks a lot, and sometimes I still have no idea what’s going on in her little head!

    Reply

  6. ~m
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 18:57:13

    Hee! That’s funny πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

