Oh, These Are the People in Your Neighborhood

I would wager good money money a dollar this loose change in my pocket that you do not live in a neighborhood like mine. I love it a lot. I love that I can walk to the library and the bakery and the drugstore and the bakery that has donuts and the post office and the bakery that has baklava and even the grocery store, if it’s not too hot and there’s enough time, and also the bakery.

 

And I have to tell you that one of the more dubious benefits of living in my neighborhood is people’s idea of what constitutes ornamentation.  And so I shall prove to you that I do INDEED live in a unique community and herein I submit my first piece of evidence:

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 10:54:09

    As I drove into our rather sedate neighborhood one evening, I noted an entire lawn FILLED with plastic flamingos. Around these here parts they’re considered to be a joke, not ornamentation…

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 18:36:29

    Yes, but toilets? As planters? I’m thinking that would probably get you kicked out of your neighborhood but I don’t know, maybe you could try it adn see 😛 At least it would generate some excrement, er excitement! (hee!)

    Reply

  3. Sharon Sue
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 21:53:29

    No stinkin’ way!!!! The commode as an abode for flowers??? What are these people, absolute lunatics??????

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 17:19:34

    If this is the first time you remember seeing a bathroom fixture used as a lawn ornament, you didn’t live in Wesleyville long enough…

    In the neighborhood near my college in Cleveland there were a lot of partially buried tubs forming an alcove to protect the obigatory Mary statuette.

    Somewhere near us there’s someone with two of these flanking their door, and they’ve also planted in the tank part. I’ll see if I can get a picture…

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 17:20:43

    just thought of this–someone did the flamingo thing as a fundraiser here. You can pay to put flamingos on someones lawn, unless they’ve paid more than your donation for flamingo insurance.

    Reply

  6. nikkip
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 23:07:11

    oh. my. WORD! zach is going to be so excited to try this out on our patio for summer entertaining. it will fit right in to our neighborhood. i bet you can picture it in your head even as you read this. instead of flowers, though, i think bamboo would be nice. i can’t wait to try it out. thanks for the awesome idea, m!

    Reply

  7. ~m
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 07:12:20

    Lisa, bathtubs? REALLY? full sized? just, wow.

    Nikki, you made me almost pee mt pants from laughing at that mental image. maybe you could get some nice wheatgrass to put in them, as well.

    Reply

  8. natalie
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 09:49:21

    i can’t even imagine. are the flowers in them fake? because that would be taking it too far!

    Reply

  9. ~m
    Jun 07, 2008 @ 18:32:05

    Actually I think they ARE fake. I know they put plastic pointsettias in them for the winter, too. Oh, yes, it IS a joy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

