Purge

So I think I may have mentioned that I am ever so slightly somewhat of a packrat, what with the boxes in the basement and all.

But today I actually THREW SOMETHING AWAY or well, got ready to throw something away, or recycle it anyway, which for me is a step.

I finally decided that all those notes from grad school?  The ones I thought might come in useful again someday? Yeah, those, I got rid of those. Well, most of them.  I did keep the ones that might be interesting to look at again someday when my offspring dig through the detritus of my former life whilst shaking their heads and muttering about my inability to part with crap  when things are more settled at some unspecified time.

The amount of paper that I got together–which included old classroom notes as well as an ungodly number of articles that I amassed for the thesis–possibly accounted for the demise of a small forest.

A small forest

I thought about all the time and money and energy and money and sweat and mostly money that went into the gathering together of this information stored on all this paper, information that is not stored anywhere in my brain as far as I can tell.  And I thought about the fact that I am STILL paying back the money that went into the amassing of those papers and that once we came back to the U.S. I very quickly lost interest in the field to which I had hoped to apply all that information. 

And, well, that was all because then Miles got up.  Grad school was kind of a fruitless endeavor for me but despite the FOREST of trees that died, sacrificed to my higher education, at least we got to live in Portland and made some pretty kick-ass friends.

And I guess I don’t really know where I’m going with this except that A) I got rid of stuff–yay! for me! and B) a small forest does not exist because me–poop! on me! and C) Vanity, vanity all is vanity, says the Preacher.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ABC
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 23:32:01

    Oh Michele, I have a CLOSET FULL of my grad school notes. Can you come throw away (i mean recycle) mine for me, because I can’t quite get myself to do it.

    And can I just say, “Yay for Oregon and Yay for kick-ass friends.”

    Reply

  2. natalie
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 06:29:56

    i got rid of any notes from college pretty much right after i took them. i was not the studious type at all. i knew i would never look at those things again. at least i was honest with myself. i love to learn things, but don’t ask me to take notes!

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 09:14:05

    Am, I would VERY HAPPILY come recycle your notes for you. You KNOW how good i am at organizing other people’s crap, esp if it doesn’t even belong to them! 😀

    Natalie, I WISH i had had your initiative. We even put those notes in STORAGE while we went to Korea for a few years. STORAGE! what craziness…

    Reply

  4. nikkip
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 10:20:10

    you’re funny.

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 13:38:04

    Nikki, you only say that because you haven’t been in the basement, which is kind of like your basement except it is neither nice nor cozy and its a lot more crowded. And it doesn’t have foozball.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

