You’re Getting Very, Very Sleeeeeepy

One of the hardest things about the whole learning how to parent an infant thing, apart from the NICU thing and apart from the breastfeeding troubles and apart from the colic and apart from the Fussy, I mean, has been the fractured sleep.

I am a Champion Sleeper. Ask anyone. I can sleep.  8 hours is nothing. 10? 12? 14 hours? Not a problem. I could probably spend the best part of 24 hours asleep easily.  If there were a job that involved sleeping for long hours at a stretch, I would be the woman for that.

So the whole up A LOT at night thing was reeeeaaalllly hard to adjust to. I think that I am getting better with it and Miles is (sometimes) getting better about sleeping too.  Ok, no he’s not.  But I am getting better about dealing with nights like last night where he was trying to get up at 11 and was up from 12 – 1:30 and then restless at 3:30 (when I put him back in the co-sleeper) and then under the impression that 4:48 was a good time to start waking up (which it wasn’t and he settled for another hour).

Anyhoodle, I found this nice article on sleep called “Sleep: A Necessity, Not a Luxury”.  These kinds of articles always tell you how you need to sleep and they give you lots of tips on how to get a good night’s sleep but, INTERESTINGLY, they never address the whole Baby-not-sleeping-no-sleep-for-mama-and-papa thing.  I guess that falls into an entirely different realm. No, not guess. I KNOW it does.

BUT. I did learn that before the electric light was invented people regularly slept 10 hours at night. Now, I know that they didn’t have central heat nor did they have vacuums or Starbucks or penicillin or SANITATION, but I truly think that, compared with regular 10 hours of sleep nights, all that other stuff is just fluff.  I knew I was born in the wrong era, just knew it.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jun 10, 2008 @ 14:44:10

    They said PEOPLE regularly slept 10 hours, not INFANTS regularly slept 10 hours:)

    Reply

  2. natalie
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 06:28:30

    i am getting very, very sleepy. you are right. i think i might need a nap! especially after reading all this about sleep. it could have something to do with the fact that i stayed up until 4am talking to a friend in america on the phone and then had to wake up at 7, but didn’t get out of bed and let my husband take care of getting the kids off to school, but laid there and felt guilty. that could have something to do with it!

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Jun 11, 2008 @ 12:40:38

    Mom: doesn’t matter about the infants. Ten hours during normal, non-infant life is what would make me happy!

    Natalie: Hmmm, sounds like you have the right kind of husband…the kind that lets you sleep! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

