El lapiz de mi hermano, la mesa de mi abuela

In my pursuit of being the uber-parent and raising a child with EVERY advantage including linguistic, today we commenced the torture attendance of an infant/toddler Spanish language class. Yes. The Smallson is 8.5 months old. But it is NEVER TOO EARLY to be exposed to another language.

In fact, the younger the better and if you are so lucky as to have a second language yourself, it never hurts to use both from Day One.  Not being one of the Lucky Ones–in fact, I know so little of two languages that I frequently mix up the two, thus making bi- or sometimes tri-lingual utterances–I have to pay actual MONEY for someone else to help me help my son to be exposed to another language.

There were 3 other moms in the class plus 2 boys and a little girl. They were toddlers (the boys and girls, I mean) and by the end of the class, which was only 45 minutes, there was some high-energy toddler angst and general Fussy from kids who were forced to baila in a circle, look for the pelota and play with the rompecabezas, when all they wanted to do was eat lunch and take their naps.

Miles lasted about 20 minutes and the rest of the time was a high-energy work out for Miles’s mama as she tried to keep the infant Fuss to a minimum.  All he wanted to do was try to eat the rompecabezas.

BUT. I did gain some self-confidence in using my decrepit Spanish, mostly because I had the best pronunciation of all the moms AND kids. Yes. I rock. I know. Yo se.  I can speak short Spanish phrases to an infant who can’t even speak English yet. I’m just awesome that way.

!Que divertido!

El rompecabezas

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natalie
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 15:59:37

    now that is funny. i don’t think i can remember a bit of the spanish i learned in high school. turkish has filled my brain to the point of pushing the spanish out, but not to the point of actually knowing turkish that well. when we went back to the states for a visit i couldn’t even understand the guys speaking english in the mexican restaurants. i was so used to hearing english with a turkish accent i couldn’t even tell it was english when it had a texmex one. sigh.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 10:35:31

    Oh, I totally know what you mean. In Korea, my Korean, while I actually didn’t know as much vocabulary, was of much more practical use to me but someimtes a Spanish word would come to mind instead, causing great confusion^^
    And the whole accent thing makes sense too…and I think that’s a lot of what is going on when people say ‘they can’t understand someone’s accent’…it’s just that they aren’t familiar with it, it’s not that the person can’t speak English!
    How often do you guys get back to the U.S.?

    Reply

  3. natalie
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 15:33:39

    we usually get back once a year or so for a couple of weeks. we did spend 7 months in the states from jun 06- jan 07. we went back this last christmas as well. and we are planning on being back for at least 7 months again starting in november. when we first moved here we didn’t go back for a year and a half. then we waited another year and a half before we went back again. it seemed like the perfect amount of time to really miss it and enjoy the time back immensely!

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 15:45:08

    Estupendo! (I do not know where the upside down initial exclamation point exists.) or am I mixing that up with another language? Does Spanish use exclamation points at the beginning and the end of the sentence?

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 10:10:48

    Natalie: that sounds like a good way to do it, actually. We went home once a year for a few weeks at a time, or, when we were teaching at the uni, it was more like a month or so. worked out well. but that meant we didn’t travel as much to other countries so it was kind of a trade-off.

    !sharon! yes, espanol uses the exclamation and question marks at the beginning but I have no idea either how to access them on my ingles keyboard so i just use two right-side up ones 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

