Death of a Computer

The computer machine, it is dead right now. So I have to use Troy’s.  I called the guy at the Electronics Megastore to ask him about getting it fixed and he said:

“Blahblahblah motherboard blahblahblah 7 to 10 days blahblahblah don’t know how much it will cost”.

So VERY unhelpful. And then I asked, because, you know, I do not know what exactly a motherboard is, I just have kind of a fuzzy and vague idea that is somehow wrapped up with the idea of ‘mothership’ as well, so I asked if the hard drive…and all the crap that I haven’t backed up since last summer on it…would be affected and he said ‘the motherboard has to be replaced, you doltish idiot with a brain the size of a pea. ANYONE knows that the motherboard and hard drive are different why are you wasting my time even taking the breath to ask such a dumb question’, altho not in so many words.

So I should probably haul myself and my Smallson all the way out there to the Electronics Megastore to send my dead computer machine off to the mothership and see how much it will cost to repair or if it would just be more cost effective to buy a new one and let go, with regret and the appropriate ceremonies of mourning, all the information that lies dormant on the poor little inoffensive hard drive that only wanted to be loved and instead was abducted by the motherboard/ship, which is probably at this very moment performing nasty, unspeakable medical experiments/anal probes and impregnating it with computer/alien hybrid offspring.

The Truth is out There.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. natalie
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 12:39:08

    um…i don’t know a thing about computers really. i bought a mac at christmas because i was so tired of the dell we had always having issues. i figured i would just see what i thought about a mac. i had no idea how to do anything so our resident mac guy/good friend here fixed it up for me. i literally brought it to him and told him to make it where i would like it. and he did. the end.

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 12:55:13

    You don’t have to take your computer to the MegaStore. The mothership will just beam it up for you:)

    Actually, the motherboard is the electronic grid inside your computer that everything is plugged into. The harddrive is one of the things plugged into it. So the motherboard can crash without affecting the stuff on your hard drive. The mothership will be able to let you know for sure after they have performed their unspeakable probing and experimentation.

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 14:40:13

    Thanks, ladies! I took it in to a local place today and they are going to look at it. It might cost more to repair than it is worth…except that there are a quite a few PICTURES on there that I didn’t save elsewhere so of course that is a consideration…

    Reply

  4. norba920
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 09:01:12

    you’re a funny lady, m. and i’d also like to recommend popping down $80 on an external hard drive that will automatically back-up your data–as you know, pics are priceless. just my 2 cents–feel free to disregard 🙂

    Reply

  5. Lisa
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 11:20:44

    I know someone who can extract stuff from your hard drive for you, but they are in IL. There’s probably someone who could do it there–or your local place could do that instead of replacing the motherboard if you decide to go with a new one.

    What do you have now, btw? I’m a PC person because two analysis programs I use frequently are PC only, and I’ve been told by others that some of the functions I use on programs that run on Macs don’t work as well on Macs as they do on PCs. My B-I-L is a big Mac person, has his parents fully set up on Macs, thinks PCs are the devil, etc. He doesn’t believe that this is true, but I have yet to meet a high level mathematician or statistician that praises Macs other than for personal use (I know some who have Macs at home for family and use an application to work at home but actually be using their office computer.) I do know lots of photography people who love Macs and would never use a PC for photo processing. My S-I-L uses a PC just because they’re cheaper, which is also a major difference. The one Mac keeps stressing on their commercials is the virus issue–but they might hurt themselves as they increase their market share. Someone will figure out how to infect them as soon as it’s worth their while (IMO).

    Okay–clearly I’m blabbing on when I came in here to get back to work on the Big D after two days off. In may defense I have also had 3 days away from the internet so I’m trying to catch up with the happenings!

    Lisa
    (PS: Thought of you every time I went by the part of frontier town with the stocks. Somewhere I still have a picture of all of us in them in 6th grade.)

    Reply

  6. ~m
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 18:05:34

    Rob: yeah, I need something a little more substantial than the flash drives i have…

    Lisa: i have a PC because of my job…Macs are practically unheard of in Korea so it would be a nightmare to convert stuff from HangeulWord to whatever the equivalent is for Macs esp given that its hard enough to get it into Microsoft Word.
    I can’t BELIEVE you’ve got a pic of us in the stockade. How hilarious! I hope you guys had a good time 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sharon
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 20:13:26

    Wait, Michele was in the stocks in the 6th grade? Now THAT would be a photo worth saving/retrieving from the hard drive if it gets unplugged from the motherboard at the mothership shop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

