Sleep, You Don’t Got It, Crappy

since I haven’t made a post about Miles’s sleeping in the last 2 minutes, I thought I would do that because, you know, what ELSE have I got to talk about?

If it’s not one thing it’s another.  We haven’t played Up for Two Hours recently, nor have we done the Let’s Try to Wake Up Every Hour or Even Every 20 minutes Game, either (and KNOCK ON WOOD, please do not jinx me, Mr. Sentence!) Two nights ago he suddenly started sleeping well and by well I mean he slept for 8 – 9 hours straight without waking before he wanted to eat.  And that was something that hadn’t happened since, seriously, December.  The first night it happened, he got up at 4:45 to eat and then i guess he decided he’d had plenty of sleep because he just got up and hey, why not?!  Then the night before last he went to sleep for about 45 minutes and was up for an hour and then went back to sleep around 10 and slept till I woke him to eat around 3:45, went back to sleep till 6:30. But LAST night, he did the same sleep, up for awhile, then sleep but only went till 2 before eating and was up at 5:21.

I have heard that alledgedly there are babies who sleep for 8 or 10 or even 12 hours at night but I have no experience with that. I have also heard that there are babies who will sleep for 14 hours in a day…but it seems that Miles is now operating on about 11.5 or 12. What?!  Surely that can’t be enough but he’s only sleeping about 8-9 hours/night now and only naps for maybe 2.5 hours during the day at most.

And THEN there’s the whole has to be walked to sleep thing. Frankly when he does his I’m Up for Two Hours in the Middle of the Night Game, I’ve been refusing to play and not walking him.  But last night, when it was still early and I hadn’t turned into Mrs. Grumpy CrankyPants yet, Troy and I took turns walking him and I this is what I thought about:

His warm, heavy little body snuggled against mine, his downy little baby bird head nestled under my chin, his chubby, silky soft baby hands petting my arm as he drifted off, his little baby sighs and the rise and fall of his little baby chest as he breathed

Someday, I’ll be glad that we walked him. Someday that memory will be pure golden joy. 

In fact, it already is.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 08:44:09

    Props to you for being able to focus on the great memories in the midst of frustration!

    Reply

  2. bejewell
    Jun 22, 2008 @ 14:37:05

    When the Bean was very little, I was concerned about him not sleeping through the night and read a bunch of books about it.

    None of them really helped, but one of them advised moms NOT to rock their babies to sleep every night, because the baby would get used to it and want that every night. But then the author went on to say (paraphrased), “You know, I just wrote that, and then I went with my daughter to try on prom dresses, and I realized that it wasn’t sound advice. The truth is, if you want to rock your baby to sleep you should do it, because in a flash they’ll be 14 and getting ready for the prom and those days will be long gone.”

    I cried like… well, a baby. It’s totally true. Enjoy those moments while you can, because they’ll be gone in the blink of an eye.

    😉

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 14:06:50

    Lisa, thanks for the encouragement. I know it won’t last forever even though it seems like it will when you haven’t had more than a handful of nights in which you slept for more than 4-5 hours at a stretch! (of course, some people survive on that, I’m just not one of them…)

    Bejewell, I totally agree with you. I, too, had bought a bunch of books before Miles was born and over the past 9 months have come to realize the only advice I need to listen to is what comes from my heart and instinct. I can’t understand why anyone would NOT want to rock their baby to sleep at night…that’s what babies are made for (I just wish Miles knew that since he DOESN’T like to rock and just wants to walk 😉 )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

