Confessions of a Sartorial sinner

So this weekend was busy and good. My mom came down to stay the night on Friday night, on Saturday we hung out for a little while before she went back home in the afternoon and yesterday we drove over to one of the local parks that also has an petting zoo so that Miles could see the animals.  I’ve got pictures just WAITING to be uploaded so that you may adore them as soon as I get my own computer back.

Meanwhile, allow me to entertain you with a secret confession known only to a select few and now to the world you, as well.  This little secret concerns my pajamas, or rather what I wear to bed since pajama implies some kind of coordinated effort on the bed clothes front.

My bottom half is clad in an ancient pair of extra large J. Crew boxers–green with large white dots–complete with a seam that is ripping out on the left leg that I got half a century ago a few years ago when I was attending university for my undergrad degree. They sport that casual air of tattiness laid-back casual-ness that even Goodwill would reject is hard to find in your so-called “new” clothes.

For the upper regions, I don a sleeveless, blue plaid button-down shirt that I found at Goodwill. it is Most Convenient for night nursing as well as being cool and airy.

The two of these put together swear mightily at each other create an ensemble rarely seen in good company.

Please tell no one about my fashion faux pas. I hope indeed that I can remain your good graces as well.

Good night and sleep tight; don’t let the thoughts of such a wretched combination as my pajamas bedbugs bite!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 14:37:06

    I’ve actually had the pleasure of seeing that outfit. IT’S NO WONDER YOUR BABY CAN’T SLEEP AT NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 17:52:30

    Your mother is marvelous, Michele!! Please loan her to me.

    Reply

  3. natalie
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 02:38:01

    my husband just gave me a gift certificate to victoria secret for our anniversary. i was wondering what he was thinking when i opened it, but he wrote something about it being for a nice pair of cotton pjs. i guess he’s getting tired of my gray knit old navy shorts that are way too big and the gap t-shirt that is supposed to be brown but has bleach spots on it. at least he knew not to write that it was for lingerie on the card.

    Reply

  4. ~m
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 09:00:20

    Mom: now, now. At least I don’t dress your grandson that way!
    sharon: i am sure my mom would be happy to do surrogate duty, esp if we all move to Northern Spain so I can grow up again appreciating The Hot.
    Natalie: hilarious! you know when your husband starts noticing that it is getting bad 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

