Ethical Dilemma

When I was in the parking lot at the SuperMega Home/Construction Superstore today, a young Philipinna came up to me and started asking me for a donation to support some kind of missions work.  I always get a bit confused when faced with this kind of thing because my desire to help conflicts with my desire to not give money when I feel like I’m being put on the spot and pressured to do so.  In the end, usually I do give a bit.

In this case I did not.

As she handed me her little card with all the information about how they were helping the women of the Philippines do something or other positive and beneficial and avoid a life of poverty and/or being forced to go marry a man from another country in hopes of a better life, in the midst of all this, I noticed that her organization bore the name of Sun Myung Moon.

Now, I am sorry if you are a member of the Unification Church, indeed I have nothing against the church itself, but for me, anyone who not only proclaims but crowns himself ‘humanity’s Savior, Messiah, Returning Lord and Parent’ is kind of, well, a High-Order Crazy Whacked-Out Lunatic of the First Craziness Degree. 

(On the other hand, I guess he is just a pretty typical business man of his particular generation but with enough money to indulge his ego, his fantasies and his assumption that the world revolves around him.  i was going to go with ‘Korean’ businessman but I guess that Korea does not have the sole example of The Type.)

So I didn’t give her any money. But this is my question. I didn’t give her money because I don’t want to support such a lunatic reprehensible individual as Moon but by giving her money, would I have helped some poor Philippina partly avoid a life of poverty/marriage to some farmer out in the backwoods of a country she’s never been to before and would helping her be more important than supporting Mr. Moon’s organization?  (think I’ll go make a donation to WorldVision or something to assuage my tender feelings on this matter.)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dodd
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 23:44:45

    google “moon spiritual sales japan”

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 09:19:53

    dodd, that’s just craziness…

    Reply

  3. bigmouthmom
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 10:04:16

    I applaud your sentiment, I too would not have given her money, and then would have felt bad. I just looked up the moon org, and it is a little odd. A lot like the fundamentalists.

    Reply

  4. bigmouthmom
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 10:06:16

    I applaud your sentiment, I too would not have given her money, and then would have felt bad. I just looked up the moon org, and it is a little odd. A lot like the fundamentalists.

    Reply

  5. natalie
    Jun 26, 2008 @ 13:30:06

    i wouldn’t have given her money either. we always decide who to give money to at the beginning of the year so we can tell people we have already chosen our charities for the year. it works wonders.

    Reply

  6. ~m
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 09:51:43

    bigmouthmom: yes, it really is a strange one. I’m just kind of leary of anyone who proclaims him or herself to be the Messiah.
    “There can be only one” (heh. a little Highlander reference there)
    Natalie: that is a good idea. but i would still feel bad. There are so many worthy charities out there, aren’t there?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

