In Which Michele Salutes Single Parents Everywhere

These past couple days Troy has still been busy at work. Last night he didn’t get home until 8:15 or 8:30 or some such ridiculous time.

And of course Miles was in ExtraFussy Mode yesterday and had to be Up all the time and didn’t want to play with his toys or play by himself and if he did play, he’s now at the point where he topples over front-ways and lands on his stomach and he really loves that and squawks long and loud until he is ‘rescued’. 

His mama is going to be very happy when he learns to crawl, which will be NEVER given the mad purple passion that results how resistant he is to being on his tummy.  I can hear you saying it now, “He will never learn to crawl because you are always ‘rescuing’ him” but allow me to just tell you right now that Fussing Babies have always  driven me nuts caused me to feel slightly perturbed and the fact that I have a King Fussy Baby does not change this in the least and it is truly in both our best interests for me to step in right away before I get too irritated, which takes all of about 32 nanoseconds.

Anyhows, what with the Fussy and the Clingy and the abbreviated napping and the Farting Around at Bedtime, it all drove me to drink think about single parents and how do they deal with that all on their own without resorting to prescription medication (and if they DO, I am behind them 100%) or to firewater because I could hardly handle one measly little day on my own.

So if you are a single parent or if you know a single parent you should: a) pat yourself (or them) on the back and b) treat yourself (or them) to a bottle of wine or 3.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie @ BeanPaste
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 15:20:17

    Amen. My husband will be gone this weekend, Friday through Sunday morning, I can’t help but feel like I’m looking down the barrel of a long, hot, 48-hour-shaped gun.

    Oy.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 18:40:54

    Oy! I hope you have plenty of gin stocked up because 48 hours in Babycare time is equal to about 62 normal human hours and since you have MORE THAN ONE then that’s equal to a number that I can’t count to because it requires higher math skills.

    Reply

  3. nikkip
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 23:54:44

    here! here! a toast.

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 16:12:39

    You got a comment from THE BeanPaste Queen herself!!! I am so incredibly jealous, but since I told her I wouldn’t give her my blog URL until I was at least 1/20th as witty as she is, what can I expect?

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 18:48:08

    Well, she was just having pity on me. i had had a hard day. I guess she IS the BeanPaste Queen; at the very least an honorary BeanPaste Lady, being so very pasty and all

    Reply

Leave a Reply

