Kissers and Killers

I’m something of a tree hugger.  Literally. I have hugged trees.  And I may have kissed them, too, but I’m not telling.

I love trees.

I love their straight, bolt uprightness, the way such a hard object springs suddenly from the ground into the sky as if defying gravity, the way the leaves and branches dance and toss in the breezes, the way they sway to the atmospheric vagaries as to an unheard tune, giving and bending to the harshest wind only to stand tall again after the storm.

I have always loved trees and I regard them, for the most part, as friendly things.  We have 8 trees in our yard, plus some weedy tree-shrub type things that aren’t too much in the way and a huge, overgrown lilac tree that I am too cowardly to tackle the trimming thereof.

Today the new neighbor who just bought the house behind us brought down a huge old pine tree on the corner of his front lot. Yes, it was raggedy.  Yes, some of the needles were brown. But I just kind of felt sick because it was basically healthy and was just going to be killed because it was in the way.  I don’t think it’s really fair, something that is so old and can’t run away gets the axe literally because it’s convenient for the human.

Ok, I know I sound like a lunatic and I can hear your eyes rolling from here. But, still.  To watch them slowly inching their way up the 4-story tall tree, lopping limb after limb.  It doesn’t bother me so much when people bring down sick trees or dead trees or trees that are in danger of falling and endangering life, limb or property.  But so many people around here just chop ’em down because they are tired of them or they are ruining the ‘view’ or ‘aren’t letting the sun in’ or just because it seems fun. And they don’t replant either. 

A crying shame, that’s what it was.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 16:50:04

    I’m with you. The only eye-rolling going on is mine aimed in the direction of your insane neighbor. I love trees.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 18:58:13

    Sharon, our two hearts beat as one!

    Reply

  3. The Mom
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 07:41:36

    How sad:( (The killing, not the kissing!)You have always helped me see life from a different perspective, and I appreciate that.

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 11:14:24

    Two hearts, two hearts that beat as one, our lives have just begun. My first love, you’re the something in my life, the only thing that’s right. And Iiiiiiiiiii, I’ll be a fool for you, and trees, and it’s been too long since the 80s and I first heard this song, can’t remember the lyrics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

