For my little guy

 

I wish I could make it better
when you fall and bump your sore little mouth
adding insult to the injury of impending teeth

 

I wish I could make it better
when you are so tired but can’t sleep
All I can do is hold you

 

I wish I could make it better
someday
when your heart breaks

 

from
teasing
casual cruelty
stinging disappointment
the death of your pet
the rejection of someone dear
the loss of a hope or dream or expectation

 

All your pain

 

I wish I could make it better
as easily then as I can now

 

with a kiss
and a cuddle
“oh, look! what’s the kitty doing?”

 

I can’t
It makes me want to cry and hold you closer
take you into my heart to be safe

 

safe from slings and arrows
outrageous fortune

 

I can’t
But I will love you with as much strength as is in me
Which is a lot
when it comes to you

 

I can’t make it better
But I will be here
by your side
always

 

My dear one

 

My beautiful boy

 

I love you

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amberlina
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:57:45

    Why do you always insist on making me cry? You’re the best darn mommy ever.

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:58:22

    And just being there and loving deeply DOES make it better. Not completely well, but far better.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 17:02:00

    ty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

