Consider, if you will, the Lowly Chicken

I like chickens.

They’re delicious.

Ha. Just kidding.

I like chickens. If I could keep chickens in my backyard, I would. They are beautiful and AT LEAST as entertaining as the cats. Miles likes them too when we’ve gone to the local animal farm to see the animals.

So let us consider, if you will, the plight of the chicken. 

They lay eggs for us to eat, that we know. But did you also know that:

     “…more than 98 percent of the 345 million laying hens in the United States live out their lives in      stacked rows of tiny wire cages….in 2005the United Egg Producers, in response to public concerns, recommnded a gradual increase in cage space for each adult Leghorn…to 0.47 square feet. By comparison, an 8.5 x 11 sheet of notebook paper is 0.65 square feet–30 percent bigger than the new ‘humane’ goal.”
                Raising Baby Green: The Earth-friendly guide to pregnancy, childbirth and baby care, Alan Greene, M.D.

That my friends is a sad thing.  And that is why we should shell out the extra $$ for cage-free, free range eggs.  Because it’s just plain mean not to.

 

 

 buck buck buck buck buck buck buck bugawk!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amberlina
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 15:40:26

    In Portland, you are allowed to have up to 3 egg-layers within the city limits.

    Reply

  2. Amberlina
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 15:40:47

    Oooh, I should have added: all the more reason for you to move back.

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 15:54:54

    Oh, Amberlina, that IS incentive! As if I even needed it. (The nursery we went to when we were out a year ago was also incentive. Nurseries like that + egg laying hens= AWESOME!)

    Reply

  4. natalie
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 00:44:25

    ok…so i saw this thing called an eglu online recently. i have no idea why or how i got to their site, but it made me think about owning my own chickens.

    http://www.omlet.co.uk/products_services/products_services.php?view=Chickens

    i’m pretty sure my cats would love that!

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 07:53:15

    yeah, seriously! that’s the only hurdly that we would have to overcome. I’m pretty sure our cats would see the chickens as fair game! 😛

    Reply

  6. Sharon
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 14:18:09

    Michele,

    I remember when Cathy Harris tried to tell me that organic foods cost only 25% more than regular food. Her “regular” stores definitely weren’t the ones I shopped at, because for us the increase would have been more like 75-100% more. So I empathize with the angst to want to eat conscientiously/healthily/ethically, etc, and yet the cost is a problem. So I decided I would start with just one thing, and that thing I chose was to buy cage-free eggs. We’ve been doing that for about a year now, and I hope to add some other changes in as well. Hey–I know…let’s you and I and Amberlina (and husbands) purchase 10 acres to live on in Oregon, and we’ll grow our own sustainable organic food and you can raise chickens, and we’ll babysit miles a lot whenever you need extra sleep. (But Coffee better leave alone my precious little Chloe.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

