Good eats! (or, why I am not a fancy-schmancy photographer for a foodie mag)

Chicken with Goat Cheese Sauce and Tarragon (from some magazine or other)

1/4 c chicken broth, divided
1 3-oz package goat cheese, softened
16 oz chicken
1/4 tsp salt and pepper, each
1 tsp butter
2 Tbsp finely chopped onion
2 Tbsp finely chopped celery (VERY optional. Celery = yuck)
2 Tbsp finely chopped carrot
2 Tbsp finely chopped red bell pepper
1 garlic clove, minced
1.5 tsp chopped fresh tarragon or 1/2 tsp dried
2 cups cooked rice

1. Combine 1 Tbsp chicken broth and cheese in small bowl, whisking till blended. Sprinkle chicken w/ salt and pepper.

2. Saute onion, celery (if you must), carrot, bell pepper and garlic in butter 3 minutes. Add chicken and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in 3 Tbsp broth, cover, reduce heat and simmer until chicken is done.

3. Stir in cheese mixture and tarragon until blended. Serve w/ rice.

Or, cook chicken in crock pot, saute veggies and throw them in at the end w/ the sauce. Call it done.

This is very yummy. It got an ‘mm” out of the Tiny Tyrant.

I didn’t have the celery (perish the thought), nor the bell pepper, NOR, the onion for some reason so I used carrots, eggplant and thin slices of apple.

If I were a professional fancy-schmancy photographer for a food magazine, I would have a luscious photo for you. I would have waited to mix all the ingrediants and instead arranged them delicately on some very posh serving dish, then drizzled nicely and artistically with the sauce.

But I didn’t, so you get this instead:

img_1107

Kind of mushy looking. But tasty.

Bon appetit!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 14:32:29

    Looks like it’s already been et:), but I’ll take my grandson’s word on it’s yummy-ness.
    Regarding your photography, I did spy an antique teatowel under the dish. That counts for something.

    Reply

  2. Amberlina
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 11:43:03

    OH SNAP! that’s a good recipe. I DID use celery. I DID add mushrooms and zucchini. I DID NOT chop anything finely and I did not use the ridiculously small amounts of vegetables called for in the recipe. I DID use goat cheese with figs in it (cause that’s what I had in the fridge. AND I DID serve it on mashed potatoes rather than rice. AND I DID receive a double MMMMMM from my husband who thinks that NOBODY cooks better than him, especially not his wife. Thank you for helping me WOW him. (oh yeah, and I had no terragon, so I used a dash of dried parsley, a bigger dash of sage and paprika)

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 19:02:45

    Am, I think the goat cheese is really what makes it. Zuke sounds great AND goat cheese w/ FIGS. YUM!
    I hope you told C that you thought it up all in your own little head 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

