A Sad Day for Starbucks

Recently, I had a birthday. You may remember this event as the whole country celebrated it under the guise of Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.  It was also celebrated on the day after during the Celebration Following the Birthday of Mrs. Fussy Crankypants.  A lot of ceremonies took place in Washington, D.C. to commemorate it and our new President also made some speeches to both honor and please me.

On my birthday, I got some loot. And one item of that loot was this:

 

p51371b

And this?  This, my friend, is something that makes Starbuck’s cry.  Mr Fussy Crankypants, ever mindful of the need to economize and pinch pennies cut costs, was kind enough to procure this for me and didn’t give a hoot about Starbuck’s and their tears.  Starbuck’s now cries daily to think of all the money they are losing as I create wonderful and deliciously delicious concoctions in the comfort of my own home.

And that is worth something, let me tell you.

Happy birthday, me!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 11:57:37

    if you feel bad about Starbucks shedding excessive tears, feel free to re-gift said machine to me and that way you can make Starbucks happy again. Always glad to be of altruistic help to you.

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 12:40:23

    Believe me, Starbucks is shedding NO tears yet. I have ALREADY used up all those Starbucks cards that were in my Christmas stocking and am now putting out my OWN dollars to keep them VERY busy. (Too bad I don’t get paid for all these overtime hours I’m putting in which in turn generate the psychological dependance on Starbucks…)

    Am most anxious to try out your new “toy” with you!

    Reply

  3. Amberlina
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 13:09:49

    Since it’s snowing and I am STRANDED and unable to make my way through the 1 1/2 inches that have accumulated (on top of ice, I should add)to get to work, I will take inspiration from you and go make my own latte. And then, I will pretend that I made one for you and Sharon too and that we are enjoying them together and I will NOT cry about the fact that the last time we all 3 were in a room together, was in 2002–or there abouts. Sob Sob.

    Reply

  4. natalie
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 13:44:48

    What is that thing? A fancy cappuccino machine?

    Reply

  5. cinesnob
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 16:14:29

    And another Starbucks shuts it door for good!

    Reply

  6. Sharon
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 21:40:44

    You’re kidding me–it’s been since 2002 since we all were in a room together? Now I am going to cry until March. Beanpaste ladies, we MUST do something to remedy that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

