In Lieu of your Sunday Konglish I offer you an Open Letter to Lowe’s

Dear Lowe’s,

On Saturday Jan 31, I bought a 5 gal container of Olympic Eggshell paint that I was told by the service person was white. He said it could be tinted cream but I assured him that white was the color I wanted.

When I got the paint home and tried it on the wall, I found that it was too cream-colored for what I wanted and called my store (05340-13109-31689) to find out if I could have it tinted white. I thought that perhaps I had misunderstood and that the product’s color needed to be tinted to make it white.

When I called, the Paint Dept told me to bring in the paint to see what they could do. I hauled it back in at no inconsiderable inconvenience and back strain to me, and, upon presenting the container, was told that it had been tinted the cream color already. I assured Herb, the customer assistant, that I had not had it tinted, that I had not even opened it until I got home, but he took me back to the area where the other paints were and showed me what “white” actually looked like.  There was a clear difference in color between the white that I had intended to purchase and the cream color paint I had purchased without any realization on my part.

Herb recommended that I ask at the Customer Service desk to see what could be done. There, the Customer Service rep contacted his manager (Brian) before processing my request. The manager apparently did not approve my return of the product and I was turned away to take back home a 5 gallon container of paint that I had not intended to purchase in the first place.

I came to Lowe’s to spend the $92.00 for this product because I have heard Lowe’s has excellent customer service when in fact I could have gone up the road to Home Depot, which is, I may add, located closer to me, but instead chose your store. This turned out to be a mistake as the product was misrepresented and, when I tried to rectify the problem, I was not given satisfaction.

I would merely like to exchange this product, which was labeled as “white”, for a product that actually IS the color that it says it is, instead of being a different color altogether. As my local store could not help me, please advise me about my next step.

I cannot say that I have been at all impressed with your reputed customer service.  Perhaps in the future I will just go to Home Depot, at which store I have never had any similar incident occur.

Sincerely,

Mrs. Fussy Crankypants

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 08:54:10

    I think you should forward that post directly to Lowe’s.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 19:34:13

    That was what I wrote to them and then posted here!

    Reply

  3. Amberlina
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 21:12:47

    They are evil and if they do not REPLACE YOUR PAINT AND REFUND YOUR MONEY, I VOW TO BOYCOTT THEM UNTIL THE END OF TIME! Your letter is marvelous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

