Laundry Soap and Dirty Hippies

I have for several years now wanted to try my hand at making my own laundry soap. In the past, though, when I would mention it, T would be like “?” and mentally he’d be thinking “she’s such a dirty hippy, what with her homemade laundry soap and her huffing about water usage and her compost bin and all”.

But, motivated by the $10/box price tag on Seventh Generation Laundry soap springtime and fresh weather as well as by the awesome Riana at These Days in French Life, I decided to have a go myself after all this time.

The ingredients are absolutely easy-peasy:

1/3 bar of soap (I used Fels-Naptha, mostly because the name is so cool)
1/2 cup of Borax
1/2 cup of washing soda (in the laundry section of Kroger, NOT baking soda, people)

After a quick look at Crystal Miller’s instructions, I took her recommendation of adding some essential oil/fragrance as well, just for, you know, kicks.

Of course, the only essential fragrance I had on hand was patchouli. So I added it. So now all our laundry smells like patchouli.

Which I kind of find ironic, because now everyone else around us is going to think that our whole little family are dirty hippies.

Which is poetic justice for T thinking I’m a dirty hippy in the first place.

What goes around, comes around. Just keep it clean.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 10:18:13

    You rock! I have been meaning to ask you for a long time (well, ever since your facebook status about making laundry soap) what recipe you used. when I run out of my current box of soap, perhaps I shall give this a try. Fels Naptha sounds very cool to me too.

    Reply

  2. Amberlina
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 10:30:57

    I’m never going to make my own laundry soap. I hope you and Sharon will still be friends with me. Is it good enough that I think you are cool for making it?

    Reply

  3. ~m
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 12:41:54

    Sharon, just do it!

    Amber, well, MAYBE you can still be our friends but only if you make us lots of lattes while we make our soap

    Reply

  4. Amberlina
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 19:47:25

    i can do that.

    Reply

  5. The Mom
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 07:39:54

    Fels-Naptha has been around for longer that I have. Good stuff, that.

    By the by, does laundry soap have to “cure” in a big crock in the basement unti it gets a thick layer of slime on it like hand-soap does? I think I remember my mother scooping up a handful of that slime and tossing it in our laundry. Good stuff, that.

    Reply

  6. Emily
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 14:03:14

    Oh I’m so excited for you! I’ve had this recipe for oh years now and I can’t wait to make it. I need to stock up on these items as we will be finished with our current liquid detergent here in probably two or three weeks.

    How does it seem to wash your clothes compared to store bought?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

