Thursday’s Child

Thursday’s Child didn’t care that I couldn’t find where I was going.

He didn’t care that I couldn’t find parking, that not being able to find parking made me cry.

He didn’t care that I didn’t have cash when we finally got to the ticket kiosk and that they didn’t take credit cards. which also made me cry.

He cared about:

getting down

playing in the water fountain

watching the turtle

playing on the playground for the few mintues before the “big kids’ overran it

eating a pretzel with Mama holding him snuggled close in the carrier

drowsing on Mama while we walked back to the car

watching Thomas the Tank Engine until he fell asleep

Thursday’s Child didn’t care about not getting a good solid nap today.

He didn’t care about eating.

He didn’t care that I was hurriedly trying to get dinner.

he cared about:

playing in the warm sunshine

going for a walk with Mama in the stroller watching his red and silver sparkly pinwheel rotate in the breeze

nursing

picking dandelions

sitting on Mama’s knee while she worked and ate dinner

nursing to sleep while Mama sang her songs to him and he let sleep wash over him in the gloaming of a spring evening.

 

Oh, to be more child-like in my worries and appreciations.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Apr 24, 2009 @ 08:31:15

    Soooo sorry that such a delightful prospect turned into such a disaster for you. I’m glad ONE of you enjoyed it!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    May 04, 2009 @ 08:34:51

    I often try to look at the world through my childrens’ eyes and when I do it is a much more peaceful and fun place to be than our grown up world!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

