Mission Impossible: The Clear-the-Fridge Menu

The Fridge is taking on frightening overtones of my dad’s fridge. If you have not seen his fridge, consider yourself lucky. If you HAVE seen his fridge, be afraid. Be very afraid.

In order to avoid the catastrophe of not being able to cram absolutely any more items into it, this week I’m going to clean it out. BUT, because I cannot WASTE FOOD because I do not desire to be haunted by the ghost of my maternal grandmother, may she rest in peace, I will endeavor to use up all the ingredients in not only edible but tasty fare (because let’s face it, while silk worm grubs are edible, why would you want to eat them?  Unless you are Korean, of course).

Said grandmother would (according to certain sources) often toss all the leftovers into the pot w/ some water and bring to a boil to make “hoop-di-doop soup”.  That is what it is called.  Here is what I have on hand but I’m thinking I won’t just toss them all into the pot together.

The items:

eggplant, 1
avocado, 1 (status: unclear)
cantelope, 1/2 (status: unclear)
asparagus, 1/2 bunch
onions
carrots, 5-6 (status: fading fast)
potato, 1
mushrooms, 2 packs
noodles, various
rice
frozen veggies, various
chicken broth
jars of:
   mango chutney, 1/2
   pesto, 1/2
   barbeque sauce, various, 1/2 each
 
meats:
   ground lamb
   chicken
   pork
   ocean perch
Cans of:
   tomatoe, sauce 1, chopped, 1
   coconut milk

The ideas:

Curried chicken & eggplant
Curried perch and mango crepes (what do you think?  does that sound good? or gross? remember, no throwing it out)
harira (lamb and chickpea stew)
pesto noodles w/ asparagus and mushrooms

Survey says?  What else can I do w/ this stuff?  Any ideas?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 19:38:57

    Could you do some kind of stew with the lamb and some of the veggies? I think you could easily clear out the following and have it taste decent if you seasoned it correctly:

    eggplant
    asparagus
    onions
    carrots
    potato
    mushrooms
    lamb
    tomatoes – both canned and chopped

    You could make a giant pot and season it just right and then give the leftovers to neighbors? Or freeze it?

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 23:36:25

    Oh, although I LOVE harira, I also love moussaka. You could do that with the lamb and tomatoes and eggplant!

    Reply

  3. The Mom
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 09:08:59

    I vote for Whoop-Di-Doop soup, myself!

    Reply

  4. Lisa
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 15:25:52

    i was thinking moussaka–but Sharon already suggested that 🙂

    Reply

    • ~m
      Jun 08, 2009 @ 17:36:31

      Well, hate to disappoint you, Lis and Sharon, but the last time I made mousakka it literally took over the course of 2 days to make it. So probably it will be awhile before I attempt that again! 🙂

      I’m hoping to stretch all this stuff out over the next week or so so I’m trying to thinking of a variety of dishes.

      Reply

  5. Rachel
    Jun 09, 2009 @ 22:04:17

    Lamb and Asparagus Stew – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Lamb-and-Asparagus-Stew/Detail.aspx

    Indian Chicken Curry – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Indian-Chicken-Curry-I/Detail.aspx

    Lamb Shepard’s Pie (add carrots, etc) – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Ground-Beef-Shepherds-Pie/Detail.aspx

    Lamb and Potato Skillet – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Lamb-and-Potato-Skillet/Detail.aspx

    Lahmahjoon – http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Lahmahjoon-Armenian-Pizza/Detail.aspx

    I always look through the comments for added/subtracted ingredients, etc.

    Good luck!! Now I’m hungry…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

