Nickels & Dimes

Where does all the money go?  That’s what T always asks me every month. Short of  telling him the truth about my addiction to organic and/or slave free chocolate, I need to find a way to figure out a meaningful response.

This month I will track every expenditure that I put out and see, because the line on my credit card statement reading Target $37.89 tells me little of what I bought. And while I am sure it was CRUCIAL at the time, sometimes I can’t recall it at all.

Publishing this publically will also force me to cut down on things that aren’t absolutely necessary. Ok, so there is very little that is absolutely necessary. How about, things that I can’t quite justify even to myself?

6/11

Walmart
Total: 14.51
Stonyfield Farm whole milk, for drinking:  2 @ 3.56  ea
Craft ribbon, to embellish present I am making for cousin’s daughter: 1 @ 1.97 ea
Topsoil, for garden, to pot up the veggies I don’t have room for in the raised beds: 4 @ 1.24 ea

6/12

Babysitter
Total: 14.00
2 hours of babysitting to foster mental health: @ 7/hr

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amberlina
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 12:40:31

    I was working for slave wages when I was a kid!!! I only go a dollar an hour PER KID!!! Kids these days!

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 14:06:22

    Good idea! I just did our monthly budget/finances and had the same question asked to me yesterday. I dunno…really I don’t. I’ve been thinking about keeping our receipts again so we can see where our money is going. It’s tedious but so eye opening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

