Tuesday & the underwhelming urge to be fit

IMG_1741

 

Whole Grain Zucchini Parmesan Pancakes

Growing up, my mom’s zucchini (yes, zucchini) pancakes were always a treat for me, mostly due, probably, to the parmesan in them 🙂

1 c. any mixture of grain flours (I used whole wheat, flaxmeal, and quinoa today)
1 c. milk
2 eggs
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 med zucchini, shredded
1/4 c parmesan (or more. why not?)
dash pepper

1. Mix
2. Cook
3. Eat.

Makes about 8 pancakes.

Today, Emily (remember Emily? Hi, Emily! I didn’t forget about the 7 things I LOVE) wrote about feeling discouraged about her fitness program that she has recently started (did I mention that Emily is about a size 2 and most likely only needs to lose weight in her little finger, if at all?).

I have been thinking about this for myself. Not that I am doing X-stretch or “shred” (whatever THAT may be. sounds dangerous to me) or anything remotely difficult. In fact, I can hardly motivate myself to go for a walk even when the weather is beautiful like it has been this week and yet we are constantly  made to feel guilty for not getting at least 1/2 hour of exercise every single blessed day.  Who has time for that? Who has the energy? Not mamas of little ones, IMHO.

I blame mothering toddlers. No, really, I do.  It just kinds of saps your motivation for pretty  much anything, especially the sleep deprivation part.

I’d like to lose about 8 more pounds to get where I was before I got pregnant w/ Miles and before I put on the 10 pounds I put on before I got pregnant with Miles.  I’d like to do that before getting pregnant again (IF that ever happens). 

But.

I know full well how good exercise is for me, how well it makes me feel and how happy I am when I can wear certain clothes without feeling constricted.  But that may all have to wait until I have navigated these uncharted toddler waters. And if that means that for the next 6 years I don’t exercise as regularly and as consistently as I should and as we are told we should every time we turn around, well, I’m not going to feel guilty about it.

So there.

I’d much rather eat brownies, anyway, and if that is what it takes to survive, so be it.

Parmesan Pancakes?  Brownies? Bring it on! I’m ready!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 07:50:28

    Mothers of toddlers are already exercising about 10 hours a day. Seriously. You don’t need to add any kind of exercise “program” to your life. Pass the pancakes, please. (I used to love those – back when I was allowed to eat carbohydrates. Sigh.)

    Reply

  2. Amberlina
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 12:11:17

    I think you are very very brave for even saying the WORDS get pregnant again especially since you haven’t slept in nearly 2 years. That should get you extra weight reduction points. Don’t you think?

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 20:09:59

    You are cracking me up! I’ll tell you more when I have time but something I read in a health magazine I got in the mail last week or the week before really triggered me to do this. I’m going to post about it here soon whenever I can find the information again, haha.

    And I’ll have to try out your pancakes with my ginormous zuke I have growing in the garden. 🙂 Excited to try them!

    Reply

  4. Emily
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 20:10:27

    Oh yeah and I’m not a size 2 and without clothes on it’s not a pretty sight…really!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

