Good Eats!

I picked up the book Eating the Greek Way by fedon alexander lindberg from the library recently and it is CHOCK FULL of gloriously delicious-sounding recipes.

This is the one I tried out tonight and if you don’t try it, you’re missing out (also, this is reprinted WITHOUT the author’s permission but I am HIGHLY RECOMMENDING this book to you so its like free publicity and you can’t beat that. Can  you? Please don’t sue me, nice Mr. Lindberg!):

Chicken Baked in Spiced Yogurt

6 skinless chicken legs or 6 thighs and 6 drumsticks
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup olive oil
Juice of 1 lemon
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tsp paprika
good pinch ground cinnamon
pinch cayenne
salt &  pepper

He goes through a bunch of steps on how to cook it on the stove and in the oven but since I have a Tiny Tyrant and since I choose to spend my free time NOT cooking (oh, wait, what free time?  The last nap has gone the way of the dodo, it seems, at least this week…) I mixed up the yogurt and spices, let it marinate and hurled it all in the crockpot on high for 4 hours. I threw in a bunch of organic carrots, too, and they were YUMMY.  I ended up using only 4 (free-range because, poor chickens!) thighs and reduced the yogurt and oil by half but added the same amount of herbs/spices.  It turned out just right.

I served it w/ a side of leftover couscous from the freezer.  It wasn’t quite enough so I prepared 1/2 cup of bulgur, added that to the couscous, nuked it till warm and stirred in the liquid from the cooked chicken and carrots along w/ a little extra olive oil because, why not?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 21:13:48

    Mm that sounds so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

