Dear Miles

Dear Miles,

I’ve been thinking about telling you this for awhile now. I don’t know when it first started but I’m sure it happened gradually. There was no exact date for it, no magic black and white square circled on my calendar as a momento, but nonetheless, it has happened.  And it seemed like a long time in coming.

I’m referring, of course, to you being the angelic little being who lights up my every day with your smiles and squeals and laughs and energy.  The fussying, crying, cranky, tyrranical (and did I mention fussy?) baby that you were not all that long ago has been replaced through some amazing metamorphic transformation by a gentle, friendly, happy, darling little boy.

Oh, you still have your moments, of course. I blame them on toddler-ness but in all honesty you come by them honestly and, frankly, they are few and far between and relatively short-lived.

In a word, my sweet angel, you are….easy.

I had no idea that word would ever apply to you but it does.  And I’m glad.  I’m glad we can spend every day making your cars go zoom and drawing endless circles and sliding down the slide at the playground.  I’m glad that we are such good companions with each other. I never dread the thought of there being still 3 more hours till your dad gets home to help me or long for the weekend when I can get some “relief”.

Not that there weren’t wonderful times as a baby, but as you move rapidly toward your second year mark, you are more fascinating, more exciting, more and more fun each day.  Perhaps you got ALL your Fussy out the first year plus some.  I could believe it if that were true since there was SO MUCH Fussy.  I hardly even want to admit that you are a jewel, a gem, a joy, a treasure and easy because perhaps I’m tempting Fate.

But I’ll tell you anyway. Come what may, I will enjoy the present goodness to its fullest.

I think I have earned it.

My sweet darling boy, I am so enamored by you. I look forward to all the days we have left together of just You and Me.

I love you,  my precious

~mama

 

IMG_1743

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 21:17:47

    And this is what helps make more babies. 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 09:39:00

    Not a moment too soon, Little One:)

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 19:27:07

    I was doing just fine until I got to the photo, and then the sweet little nape of the neck, the curve of his cheek, and I got all choked up. I get THAT from hanging out with you, Michele, even though it is a cyberspace kind of hanging out these years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

