Good Eats: Creamy tomato and shrimp chowder

Got this from a Better Homes and Gardens magazine issue and just tried it last night. It was not only good, it was ludicrously easy.  I think I’ll add in some bacon, spinach and bleu cheese crumbles next time and I’m pretty sure it will be just as good with, say, salmon or perch instead of the spendy shrimp.

It’s about as easy as it gets…open the cans, dump them in, stir in a couple more things and heat…et voila!  Oh and I doubled the recipe because I am all about leftovers.  because that means less cooking for ME.

Of course, I skipped the celery but you can add it…if you don’t care about being my friend anymore.

 

Ingredients

  • 2  stalks celery, chopped (1 cup)  (Ha ha!  Just kidding!  Got you on that one, didn’t they?  Ewwww, celery…)
  • 1  medium onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
  • 1  Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2  14.5 oz. cans diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano, undrained
  • 8  oz. medium peeled cooked shrimp
  • 1/2  cup whipping cream
  • 1/2  cup water
  •    Ground Black Pepper
  •   Slivered fresh basil
  •   Focaccia wedges

Directions

1. In a large saucepan cook celery and onion in hot oil just until tender. Stir in tomatoes; heat through. Add shrimp, whipping cream, and water. Cook over medium heat just until hot. Season to taste with pepper.

2. Ladle chowder into bowls; top with basil Serve with focaccia wedges. Serves 4 (1-1/2-cup servings).

soup

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 18:18:01

    Sounds yummy! Can you freeze this I wonder? I think I may try this this week and use the rest of the mini frozen shrimp I have in the freezer. Sounds good!

    Reply

  2. Amberlina
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 00:51:06

    okay, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. And I DID use celery just because you don’t like it. Got rave reviews from the fancy cook husband, so I guess that’s a good sign! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

