Dear Miles

Dear Miles,

I’m glad you can use hundreds of words. I’m glad you can spell your name out loud and count to 15 (almost. that pesky 13 is certainly a pain to sneak in there).  I’m glad you can accurately name a trapezoid, a helicopter, a bulldozer. 

I’m glad you are (usually) nice to the kitties and that you can kick a ball and that you love the slide, that you can leap tall buildings with a single bound and are faster than a speeding bullet (that part? yes, true. especially in a crowded public area).

I’m glad you like to read books and are interested in mama’s flowers (ok, that’s a mixed blessing, it’s true)

But?

Enough with the not sleeping already.  I was just getting ready to tell the world how you had turned a corner. the first week of this month was amazingly restful.  Not unbroken sleep, it’s true, but just nursing and back to calm slumber.  I felt rested and peaceful and on top of the world. And also, patient and like I was the world’s most awesome mama.  And now?  Stop with the 2 and 3 hour night wakings!  I know you think it’s fun.  I know that because you TELL me that. Funny!  Haha!  Mama! Funny!

But, no. It’s not funny.  I like the OTHER Miles better, the sleeping one.  You probably like me A LOT better, too, when I am not morphing into Mrs Fussy Crankypants (altho an ice cold latte or other coffee-based frou-frou drink that I did not have to make myself goes a long way toward stopping the transformation dead cold).

So here’s to sleep, my young son.  Why not give the rapid development a break?  Slow down a bit, enjoy the sleep. You’ll learn all that other stuff eventually, like reading and writing and how to put together a train engine. It’s not a race.

So try some nice sleep. It’s really nice. I promise.

Love,

~mama

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 06:29:01

    Oh no! Not sleepless again!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 10:36:36

    Clearly, “Sleepless in Seattle” needs a riveting sequel, this one about a very tired but excellent mother in the Midwest (I get so confused about what qualifies as the Midwest and what doesn’t), and it shall be called “Sleepless in Cincinnati”. Perhaps Miles needs to vacation on the Oregon coast with his auntie. He could bring his parents along and much fun would be had.

    Reply

    • ~m
      Aug 11, 2009 @ 13:12:49

      Well, you guys, apparently writing a scolding note helps because last night he slept well again.
      Who knows? I don’t…
      But I agree w/ his Auntie Sharon’s suggestion. I think that would help him a lot.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

