Two Tips for the Day Which You May or May Not Find Useful But which are Completely Fascinating to Me Because I Have No Life

Tip One

Ear Wax Removal

The Tiny Tyrant produces enough ear wax for us to go into business. No lie. If there were a market for earwax (I know. ew.) we’d be set up for life.

But since there ISN”T or not that we have found so far, we’ve had a lot of success with the following concoction that the TT’s doctor recommended to us (I know. I doctor that actually gives useful advice. I hope you have picked yourself up off the floor by now.)

Cure for the Common Earwax

2 oz warm water
1/2 tsp baking soda

Add baking soda to water and stir till mixed. Apply 1-2 drops per ear with an eyedropper once per day for one week. Re-apply once every 4 months afterwards.

I know it sounds too good to be true but it actually really works.  And it’s cheap. The only hard part is getting a toddler to be still while putting drops in his ears. Which is why we apply them when he is either nursing and almost alseep (the preferred way) or fully asleep (it tends to wake him up again).

 

Tip Two

Taking the Stink out of Stinky Diaper Syndrome

I do a load of diapers twice a week.  Because they sit for awhile, they tend to get rather odiferous, to put it mildly, and it hasn’t been coming out in the wash despite using vinegar, hot water, store-bought laundry detergent, etc, etc.

This weekend as I was making up more laundry soap, I noticed that the washing soda box recommended adding a 1/2 cup of washing soda to the regular load of laundry at the beginning to neutralize odors. So I tried it on the load of diapers I was doing and…it worked.  PLUS, I had had to use less laundry soap than normal because I was practically out but it still cut the odors.  PLUS PLUS it’s cheap and environmentally-friendly.

So there you have it.  My words of wisdom for the day.

 

washing_soda

 

+

=

red-roses-photo

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 21:13:20

    Mmmm dipes on the line..soothing! Interesting about the earwax concoction!

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 09:42:10

    Timely, timeless tips.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

