She’s Crafty

Long time, no type, eh?

 

Been busy crafting. Yes, that’s right, crafting. I haven’t really crafted at all since the TT was born (what a TRAVESTY!) but lately have had the opportunity to do a little. To wit:

 

Mei Tai for Leslie Mei Tai for Leslie

 

This is a baby carrier I made for a dear friend copied off the carrier I myself have. I hand-stitched little words all over it as well but I’m probably not going to do that again because I’m not convinced the stitching will be all that durable.

 

And then:

My new backpack

My new backpack

This is the new backpack I made for myself out of fabric left over from a different carrier I made for a cousin last spring.  The bag I had before was just a shoulder bag and every time I bent over to help Miles, it would wallop him and pretty much knock him over because it is just so dang heavy. So the backpack will alleviate my poor son’s being taken out every time we go out. It turned out pretty well if I do say so myself and I planned it all out on my own WITHOUT a pattern, thank you very much.  Best of all, it was free because I had the material left over.

I”ve also started beading some rings based on a pattern from a ring a friend gave me but have no pics of that yet.  AND I’ve already started crafting away for another DEAR FRIEND who shall remain nameless for her baby next spring.  Since it usually takes me the whole entire pregnancy to get my gifts done, it is not too soon for that.

 

Plus we’ve been busy doing stuff:

 

The zoo

The zoo

 

First ride without mama and dada (with Phoebe, an excellent ride partner)

First ride without mama and dada (with Phoebe, an excellent ride partner)

 

Ren Fest 2009

Ren Fest 2009

 

The Krohn Conservatory (pay no attention to my enormous face)

The Krohn Conservatory (pay no attention to my enormous forehead)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 12:02:56

    Great forehead, er, I mean, backpack! I see a blossoming Cottage Industry fore, er, here along with those lifesaving forehe, er, carriers.

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 07:21:52

    Great job!

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 18:32:39

    You be a GENIUS. That accounts for both your splendid backpack made without a pattern, AND your capacious forehead. Something’s got to hold all that grey matter together. Do not be silly about your forehead. It is a lovely. I bet that both Troy and Miles who is growing up MUCH TOO FAST agree with me.

    Reply

  4. Bejewell
    Sep 13, 2009 @ 09:02:07

    Look how adorable you guys are!! SO cute.

    Just noticed *ahem* how VOID my closet seems to be of *cough* GROOVY BACKPACKS *cough cough*

    Just sayin.

    Reply

  5. Amberlina
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 15:19:51

    1. My backpack had better be in the mail. WITHOUT A PATTERN??? You need to market it on ETSY.

    2. I hate secrets. It better not be anyone I know or I’ll be mad!

    3. Your forehead is the same loveliness it has always been.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

