Hi. Remember me?

I was going to write to you last night but I was all out of granola.  So you see how you rate. Lower than granola anyway.  But then, granola rates pretty high so don’t feel too desolate.

So you probably know by know that we are moving.  Last winter the decision was made that T would look for work in The Big City Two Hours North of Here because we were having a hard time finding friends. Of course in the intervening time I have made some wonderful friends that I am really going to miss now that The Move is going to take place.

A Very Large Financial Institution offered T a job about a week and a half ago.  And then the madness ensued.

All last week was spent packing, packing, packing, painting, packing, straightening and cleaning and we met with the realtor on Saturday and hopefully the listing will go through today.

When we met with him last spring, we assumed he would give us bad news regarding how much of a loss we would have to take.   We were surprised when he quoted us a listing figure above what we had bought for.  Much to our disappointment on Saturday, however, his list price had dropped $15,000 from what he had  mentioned before.

I doubt we would have been so disappointed by this if we hadn’t assumed from last spring that we might have a chance at breaking even.

Frankly,  this leaves a bad tasted in both our mouths regarding home ownership, at least in the short term.

T was talking yesterday that he figured in the four years we have been in this house, we have saved about $9,000 in rent.  However, taking into account the improvements and general maintenance costs, that figure drops substantially to only a few thousand, I would think.  And that is not even mentioning the general stress and hassle of moving an entire house.  It is vastly different from packing up an apartment and waltzing out after a month’s notice!  I thought I had a lot of stuff before but WHEW. It is nothing compared to a house.

(Alas for my back.)

All things considered, as long as I can find a landlord amenable to getting a tenant who offers free landscaping services, being a renter again will not be a big disappointment to me.

The house is being listed today. 

I like our little house. I like the quirky charms, the doorknobs that need finessing, or doors that won’t close, the enormous windows, the trim molding, the garden that I have created. Our first house. The house where our first petst were aquired. The house where our first baby was born.

I will miss it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 18:43:24

    This post makes me sad for you! I know you all are going to love it where you’re moving but change is never easy…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

