Pfshew

I know, I know. I never call, I never write, yada, yada, yada.

It’s a rainy day, the TT is sitting on his Pooh Train content with spinning the spinner, there’s a cup of tea at hand (P.G. Tips, Sharon, in your honor) and I’ll tell you what’s been going on, if you have a minute.

Sorry for my gloom and doom last time we chatted.  You see, I was feeling overwhelmed with the idea of having to spend money hand over fist to make this move.  T once wondered how it is that we scrimp and save and scrimp and save but don’t seem to have that much to show for it. Well, it’s because we don’t necessarily live your typical life. We move about here and there, change jobs every few years, hardly stay put long enough to pop out a baby here and there (no, it’s not an annoucement).  So that is what we pay for; living in a variety of places….and getting the chance to experience a variety of regions or parts of the world as well as making new friends in all those places.

Anywya, that’s beside the point.

Main point today:  the TT slept well last night. Well, relatively well.  He woke around 11 and I nursed him back to sleep. He slept for another 1/2 or so and roused again so I nursed him again but he was determined that he needed to be walked.  The whole process takes about an hour give or take, nursing and walking, so he finally settled again about 12:20…and slept until almost 4, nursed and slept till 7!  The past week or a little more has been a hellacious blend of waking every hour, usually at least one waking involving an hour to get back to sleep, always involving walking, walking, walking, then sleep for an hour then up again and several nights he was up for 2 or 3 hours.

Just about was at the end of my rope so I was glad to have a good night. We’ll see what happens tonight.

Yesterday we had another showing and then an offer on the house. they offered 2K less than what we had listed at and wanted us to pay the 3K closing costs.   Well, what an insult especially since it came from a woman who had stopped me in the yard on Saturday w/ questions about the house and was surprised at how low it was listed at.  So we counter-offered for 3K more than what we had listed at so now the ball is in their court.

T told me that after he talked to the realtor he learned that this is quite common. Nobody wants to pay closing out of pocket so if it’s included in the price, then we can raise the price to pay for it and they don’t have to cough up 3 grand.  And since 2K is not going to add all that much to a monthly mortgage, if they really want the house they’ll go ahead and pay the new price.

But on the other hand, maybe the extra few thousand will be a psychological dead-end for them.  AND who knows what the inspector will find that they’ll want us to pay for.  When we bought the house there were lots of little things…and several major things such as a sagging floor and crumbling front porch. We had the sellers pay for the joist supports adn we should have had them pay for a new front porch, too, since that was a safety issue but other than that we let the little things go.  Of course, these people may not be the type to want to buy a house that has anything wrong with it (in which case they shouldn’t be a home owner!!!).

I kind of hope that the gay couple that came to the open house will make an offer.  I would much rather that they come and take care of my garden instead of this woman who told me she has a dog, which will dig up all my flowers, all the flowers that haven’t been smothered by dandelions and bindweed, that is.

Well, the TT is thinking (again) about getting some milk and I am thinking about changing his diaper so I’ll sign off for now. 

Hopefully I’ll talk to you again soon. And don’t be such a stranger!  After all, I just baked some fresh banana bread this morning and there’s fresh tea. Stop by any time!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 10:54:32

    Oh, if only I could!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Oct 07, 2009 @ 19:52:47

    I wish we could have had bread and sobbed into our tea together. october the 6th was not a good day for either of us. except you got extra sleep compared to what you usually get which is still way less than the most of us could cope with and still remain normal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

