Delayed Gratification

Just a note at the outset: I prefer my gratification to be INSTANT, thank you very much.

With T on the job hunt and things up in the air about where we’ll be ending up when the dust settles, there are lots of things that have been moved to the back burner for now.  And by things, mostly I mean buying stuff. But not all.

To Whit:

Unpacking.  There are still boxes to be unpacked but mostly they are books. I have no desire to unpack them if we are going to move again. I have LESS desire to move them elsewhere that involve moving them BACK out later.  In all the moves we have made, I have tried not to cull our books too much. I love my library but those suckers are HEAVY.

Deep freeze. I’d like a small deep freeze to freeze veggies from the next growing season as well as to freeze meat from a meat share. Which I can’t join until I have  a deep freeze. Which I won’t get until we know whether we’re moving or not.

New bed for Miles.  I like the trundle we’re using now for its low height and space saving but along the way it has suffered some traumas and has developed various squeaks and creaks of protestation when being used by anyone over 35 pounds.  As this is the bed I sleep in with Miles, it makes for a wakesome night sometimes.  But maybe I just need to have my step-dad (aka MACGYVER) take a look and fix it with a single nail and a toothpick.

Grain mill. I’d like to start grinding my own grains and get experimenting with lots of other grains besides wheat in my baking. I’d like to make my own pasta, too. But it is just one more thing to move. If we are moving.

Baby.  I’d like for Miles to have a sibling. I’d like that to happen before I’m 87.  But without full insurance, T’s not keen on getting a move on that one.  

But let’s be honest, everyday I think about my friend Sharon living in Tanzania. Her neighbors draw water from a well.  My life is stinkin’ rich and a few extras are not going to make me any happier (but probably a job for my husband would.)  And then there’s Haiti. I have NO reason to complain.  But probably I will anyway.

Because it does A LOT of good, let me tell you.

Aren’t humans a funny lot?  We can ALWAYS find something that we need or want or if we had then we’d be happy. So I guess I am in pretty good company, the rest of humanity and all  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 07:22:39

    You KNOW Bob wouldn’t need both a nail AND a toothpick. One or the other would suffice:)

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 12:00:37

    Oh, oh, OH!!!! I am famous now!!!! And the ironic part (which just proves your point)…I look out my window and watch the neighbors draw their water from a well in a lot where animals graze (and poop and pee), and I think to myself how much I miss having safe-to-drink tap water. My neighbors wuld kill for running water, I’ll wager. Yes, we humans are an exceedingly funny lot.

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 12:01:43

    Oh, oh, OH!!!! I am famous now!!!! And the ironic part (which just proves your point)…I look out my window and watch the neighbors draw their water from a well in a lot where animals graze (and poop and pee), and I think to myself how much I miss having safe-to-drink tap water. My neighbors would kill for running water, I’ll wager. Yes, we humans are an exceedingly funny lot.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

